• $3.99

Publisher Description

I have lost everything.
My purpose
My love
My soul
Death knocks on my door, I want to answer, but every time I reach for the handle -- the promise I made her brings me back.
So I breathe.
I live.
I hate.
And I allow the anger to boil beneath the surface of a perfectly indifferent facade. I am broken, I don't want to be fixed.

But the Empire is crumbling and it's my job to fix it.
My job to mend the pieces that were scattered over thirty years ago.

A trip to New York, only one chance to redeem a lost part of our mafia family.
The only issue is, the only way to fix it, is to do something I swore I'd never do again.
An arranged marriage.
Only this time,
I won't fall.
Or so help me God, I will kill her myself.

My name is Sergio Abandanoto, you think you know my pain, my suffering, my anger, my hate?
You have no idea.

I am the mafia.
I am the darkness.
Blood in. No out.

May 31
Rachel Van Dyken
Smashwords, Inc.

Customer Reviews

bengalfan78 ,

Another Amazing EE book!

What can I say of Empire, other then it is freaking amazing. I don't know how Rachel does it but this series gets better and better with each new book. I absolutely adore this mafia family and hopes she never stop writing their story.

Sergio, I always knew you still a piece of my heart once your tory was told. It was obviously from the beginning that he was a lost soul. Someone who forgot what it meant to truly live and be a part of a family. His road to redemption was rough and hard to watch at times.

Sergio had lost everything, gained it back and lost it all in a short amount of time that when we start Empire he is man adrift at sea. He is a man that is lost in own grief and pain, that he refuses to be a participant in his life.

My heart broke for Sergio in this book. He has suffered so much loss and pain and I didn't' really see how he could move on from that in just a short period of time, but this book shows that some people only come into your life for a reason or a season, but not for life. While Sergio found a love that helped him in a dark period of his life, That person was never meant to be in Sergio's life forever.

It was apparent right away that Sergio found is forever girl in Val. Val is everything that Sergio is not, but she is everything that he needs. There are moments of brilliance between them, when Sergio steps out of his pain and grief and lets himself live. However, Sergio and Val's path to love is paved with pain, hurt and sorrow. Sergio will need to let go of his guilt and fear of forgetting his first love and Val will need to learn to stand up for herself and for what she wants in order for them to make a life together.

Forzacore ,


A gut wrenching, sexy, funny, and heartwarming story wrapped in a brilliant book. Sergio's story is captivating. While I feel like more should have been explained before Val simply gave in to the arranged marriage, this love story brought me to tears while still laughing at the crazy family bonds. I love this series and all the characters. This author does it right every time. Thank you for sharing your stories with us. I wish we didn't have to wait an entire year until we learn how Dante's story unfolds.

Lpiment1 ,

Another knockout!

I'm a huge fan of this series! It needs to be made into a movie....or better yet a TV series!!!

I was grateful to read that Sergio's story didn't end in Elude. Just when you start to think the series can't possibly get better, RVD does not disappoint! I never feel like I'm ready a copy paste story or that its becoming repetitive and I fall in love with each and every character. Their heartbreak becomes my own and I adored the witty flirty dialogue between the characters and I literally crack up at some of the interactions. The way each story is written really ropes you in so much I force myself to take breaks so I do not finish each book in a few hours. Each time I finish it leaves a void that can only be filled by the next book in the series. RVD PLEASE DON'T MAKE US WAIT AN ENTIRE YEAR FOR THE NEXT ONE!!!!

More Books by Rachel Van Dyken

Other Books in This Series