Escape to Willow Cottage Escape to Willow Cottage

Escape to Willow Cottage

    • 4.1 • 23 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

The Escape to Willow Cottage was originally published as a four-part serial. This is the complete story in one package.

A cosy and heartwarming seasonal romance, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley.

Beth is running away. With her young son Leo to protect, Willow Cottage is the lifeline she so desperately needs. Overlooking the village green in a beautiful Cotswolds idyll, Beth sees a warm, caring and safe place for little Leo.

When she finally uncovers the cottage from underneath the boughs of a weeping willow tree, Beth realises this is far more of a project than she bargained for and the locals are more than a little eccentric! A chance encounter with gruff Jack, who appears to be the only male in the village under thirty, leaves the two of them at odds but it’s not long before Beth realises that Jack has hidden talents that could help her repair more than just Willow Cottage.

Over the course of four seasons, Beth realises that broken hearts can be mended, and sometimes love can be right under your nose…

Escape to Willow Cottage was originally digitally published as a four-part serial under the title Willow Cottage. This is the complete story.

Reviews

Praise for Bella Osborne’s books:
‘A warm and engaging story with relatable characters who will worm their way into your heart. A great read!’ – Talli Roland

Praise for Bella Osborne’s books:
‘Loved it! Believable characters, a sweetly told, lovely story… a great read’ – Jane Lovering

Praise for Bella Osborne’s books:
‘Romance, comedy, and mystery abound in this delightful British novel.’ – I Read That Book!

Praise for Bella Osborne’s books:
‘A great read, with some really special moments… so beautiful and romantic.’ – Annie’s Book Corner

Praise for Bella Osborne’s books:
‘A well-written and charming tale.’ – Paris Baker’s Book Nook

Praise for Bella Osborne’s books:
‘I wasn't expecting a debut novel to be this good.’ – The Bookish & The Romantic

Praise for Bella Osborne’s books:
'Makes me feel like I should be reading it while wearing a tea dress, drinking posh coffee from a china cup and eating Victoria sandwich cake with a dainty little fork. It's charming, adorable, amusing and all those sorts of words.' – Escape Into Words

Praise for Bella Osborne’s books:
'This book is perfect chick lit.' – Gidget Girls Reading

About the author

I've been jotting down my stories as far back as I can remember. Somehow life took over, I got a sensible job in project management and the writing has remained a passion. Writing your own story really is the best fun ever! But it’s a close run thing along with talking, eating chocolate, drinking fizz and planning holidays!
I live in The Midlands with my lovely husband and our wonderful daughter, who thankfully, both accept me as I am (with my mad morning hair and a penchant for skipping).
You can follow me on Twitter @osborne_bella.

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2017
August 10
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
464
Pages
PUBLISHER
Avon
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2.6
MB

Customer Reviews

glhince ,

engaging and clever read, perfect for a weekend.

Not entirely sure what I was getting into when starting this book, Bella Osborne has a wonderfully fluid writing style that allows readers to visualize and instantly connect to the events of the story. Unfortunately for me, the characters of Beth and Jack took a bit longer to warm up as their introduction was full of quick judgments and little communication. Sadly, the communication between Beth and Jack was constantly lacking with speedy assumptions and some harsh judgments that didn’t really get an explanation until far further in. But, the miscommunication, the rush to judge and the overall tentative decision making from Kate was completely explained as the story continued.

Beth is a single mum with a 6 year old son, his father was killed overseas while in the military. After making a life, she met a man that she believed was so invested in her and in love with her that she allowed him every bit of control. The warning niggles became big red flags one day when she found him terrorizing her child and when she stepped in to stop him, he hit her. She’s packed up her son and a handful of belongings and jumped into a cottage she bought on a whim at an auction. Disheveled and in great disrepair do not go far enough to describe Willow Cottage, and the tiny Cotswolds town is full of characters: some friendly, others less so – and all considerably different from anything Beth had ever experienced.

Through settling into the village to learning how to DIY, Beth’s balance is constantly being upset with her reactions to Jack, her own worries about her ex finding them, and her best friends relationship woes. And Carly is a bubbling pot of sky high highs and expectations followed by utter devastation and disappointment, much like a child without a favored toy at Christmas. Funnily enough, Beth is able to give her some sound advice and try to mitigate her expectations as they soar to outrageous levels, but their friendship is solid, caring and truly touchstone for them both. Adding intrigue, Carly’s partner Fergus is deaf, his hearing lost after a bout of mumps as an adult, and the frustrations (and joys) of dealing with someone who can’t hear you when you yell, and has simply to turn away to stop an argument often made me giggle – as you can see the action in Osborne’s description.

The story covers a span of about nine months: from late summer through the following June, with plenty of action and a wonderful surprise hidden within the depths. Familiar to many are the stories of women being subject to domestic violence, but here Osborne adds in Jack’s struggles with an alcoholic ex with a penchant for chucking china (and other things) as well as using her fists. Touching on the lingering aftereffects that result in second-guessing decisions, guilt, fear of other people’s perceptions and the fear (from Beth) of the abuser returning, the difference in how people react to such trauma was presented in several ways and helped to explain (and mitigate) earlier harsh judgments of behaviors that were less than admirable early on. There’s plenty packed into this story and with secondary characters that bring the village to life, an outsized mastiff named Dora and other characters – this was an engaging and clever read, perfect for a weekend.

I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

More Books Like This

Willow Cottage – Part Three Willow Cottage – Part Three
2017
Willow Cottage – Part Two Willow Cottage – Part Two
2016
Willow Cottage – Part Four Willow Cottage – Part Four
2017
Follow Me Follow Me
2019
Romantic Ghost Stories (Books 1 - 3) Romantic Ghost Stories (Books 1 - 3)
2016
The Forever Kind The Forever Kind
2013

More Books by Bella Osborne

Meet Me at Pebble Beach Meet Me at Pebble Beach
2020
A Family Holiday A Family Holiday
2016
It Started at Sunset Cottage It Started at Sunset Cottage
2015
Ottercombe Bay – Part One Ottercombe Bay – Part One
2017
Ottercombe Bay – Part Four Ottercombe Bay – Part Four
2018
Ottercombe Bay – Part Three Ottercombe Bay – Part Three
2018

Customers Also Bought

The Summer House of Happiness The Summer House of Happiness
2018
Starcross Manor Starcross Manor
2020
Primrose Park Primrose Park
2021
Sunshine Over Bluebell Castle Sunshine Over Bluebell Castle
2019
The Hotel at Honeymoon Station The Hotel at Honeymoon Station
2021
The Great Allotment Proposal The Great Allotment Proposal
2015