• $7.99

Publisher Description

Miss Silver must contend with a vanishing corpse when murder rocks the postwar English countryside in this classic mystery perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers.
 
Det. Sgt. Frank Abbot of Scotland Yard thought he’d spend a quiet holiday at his family’s estate near the quaint village of Deeping. Instead, he got intrigue and wild tales of a man dragging a horribly murdered girl into the woods. Naturally, he calls his friend, private detective Miss Maud Silver, to take a look.

But the case takes a puzzling turn when no one can locate the body of the rumored victim, and the only witness suffers a broken neck. One thing is certain, however: The pastoral peace of this town masks something far more sinister.

Miss Silver, a retired schoolteacher with a fondness for knitting and reading Tennyson who has found a new career as a private enquiry agent, “has her place in detective fiction as surely as Lord Peter Wimsey or Hercule Poirot” (Manchester Evening News).

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2011
July 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
328
Pages
PUBLISHER
Open Road Media
SELLER
OpenRoad Integrated Media, LLC
SIZE
6.5
MB

More Books by Patricia Wentworth

Other Books in This Series