Every Last Cuckoo

    • 4.4 • 19 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

An elderly widow discovers a new sense of purpose when a series of wayward young people come to stay in her Vermont home in this “truly engrossing novel” (Library Journal).

Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home in the steadfast company of her husband. But now, with Charles’s sudden passing, seventy-five-year-old Sarah is left inconsolably alone.

As grief settles in, Sarah’s mind lingers on her past: her imperfect but devoted fifty-year marriage to Charles; the years they spent raising their three very different children; and her childhood during the Great Depression, when her parents opened their home to countless relatives and neighbors. So, when a variety of lost souls come seeking shelter in Sarah’s own big, empty home, her past comes full circle. As this unruly flock forms a family of sorts, they—with Sarah—nurture and protect one another, all the while discovering their unsuspected strengths and courage.

In the tradition of Jane Smiley and Sue Miller, Kate Maloy has crafted a wise and gratifying novel about a woman who gracefully accepts a surprising new role just when she thought her best years were behind her.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2009
May 12
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
292
Pages
PUBLISHER
Workman Publishing
SELLER
OpenRoad Integrated Media, LLC
SIZE
6.7
MB

Customers Also Bought

2021
2018
2016
2007
2013
2016