Every Life Is on Fire Every Life Is on Fire

Every Life Is on Fire

How Thermodynamics Explains the Origins of Living Things

    • 5.0 • 1 Rating
    • $17.99
    • $17.99

Publisher Description

A preeminent physicist unveils a field-defining theory of the origins and purpose of life.
Why are we alive? Most things in the universe aren't. And everything that is alive traces back to things that, puzzlingly, weren't.
For centuries, the scientific question of life's origins has confounded us. But in Every Life Is on Fire, physicist Jeremy England argues that the answer has been under our noses the whole time, deep within the laws of thermodynamics. England explains how, counterintuitively, the very same forces that tend to tear things apart assembled the first living systems.
But how life began isn't just a scientific question. We ask it because we want to know what it really means to be alive. So England, an ordained rabbi, uses his theory to examine how, if at all, science helps us find purpose in a vast and mysterious universe.
In the tradition of Viktor Frankl's Man's Search for Meaning, Every Life Is on Fire is a profound testament to how something can come from nothing.

GENRE
Science & Nature
RELEASED
2020
September 15
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
272
Pages
PUBLISHER
Basic Books
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
7
MB

More Books Like This

The Demon in the Machine The Demon in the Machine
2019
What is Life? What is Life?
2012
Incomplete Nature: How Mind Emerged from Matter Incomplete Nature: How Mind Emerged from Matter
2011
Six Easy Pieces Six Easy Pieces
2012
Galileo's Finger Galileo's Finger
2004
Order Out of Chaos Order Out of Chaos
2018

Customers Also Bought

The Man from the Future: The Visionary Ideas of John von Neumann The Man from the Future: The Visionary Ideas of John von Neumann
2022
The Case Against Reality: Why Evolution Hid the Truth from Our Eyes The Case Against Reality: Why Evolution Hid the Truth from Our Eyes
2019
The Big Picture The Big Picture
2016
Fundamentals Fundamentals
2021
Slow Horses Slow Horses
2010
Breath Breath
2020