• $5.99

Publisher Description

The fifth Culture book from the awesome imagination of Iain M. Banks, a modern master of science fiction.

Two and a half millennia ago, the artifact appeared in a remote corner of space, beside a trillion-year-old dying sun from a different universe. It was a perfect black-body sphere, and it did nothing. Then it disappeared.

Now it is back.

Praise for the Culture series:

'Epic in scope, ambitious in its ideas and absorbing in its execution' Independent on Sunday

'Banks has created one of the most enduring and endearing visions of the future' Guardian

'Jam-packed with extraordinary invention' Scotsman

'Compulsive reading' Sunday Telegraph

The Culture series:
Consider Phlebas
The Player of Games
Use of Weapons
The State of the Art
Look to Windward
Surface Detail
The Hydrogen Sonata

Other books by Iain M. Banks:
Against a Dark Background
Feersum Endjinn
The Algebraist

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
September 4
Little, Brown Book Group
Hachette Digital, Inc.

Customer Reviews

Prairie_Dog ,

Excellent Culture Novel Featuring Ships & Minds

Readers of Iain M. Banks Culture series will be familiar with the AIs call Minds and the often quirky sentient ships and stations that form important parts of this very advanced society. “Excession” is often told from the point of view of these ships, who face two challenges to the peace and security of the trillions of entities that call themselves part of the Culture.

The first of these is a alien race called The Affront. These aggressive beings have many characteristics that offend the morals and sensibilities of the Culture. Some think that that war with them is inevitable.

The second is an inscrutable black-body anomaly called The Excession. This object appeared once a very long time ago in orbit of the cinder of an impossibly old star. It disappeared along with this stellar impossibility, leaving only questions. It has reappeared again near a normal star, and the race is on between three civilizations to try to understand this mysterious object.

More Books by Iain M. Banks

Other Books in This Series