Fairy Tales and stories for childrens. Book 1

    • $1.99
    • $1.99

Publisher Description

Fairy Tales and stories for childrens. Book 1:

 1. Fairy Tales of Hans Christian Andersen. Part - 1; 2. The Oz books by L. Frank Baum. The Oz Books 1-5;  3. The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling.

1. Fairy Tales of Hans Christian Andersen. Part - 1

Hans Christian Andersen began publishing his Fairy Tales in 1835. This collection of 45 of the stories was translated by Mrs. Paull in 1872.

2. The Oz books by L. Frank Baum.  

(The Oz Books 1-5: 1. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz; 2. The Marvelous Land of Oz; 3. Ozma of Oz; 4. Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz; 5. The Road to Oz.)

The Oz books form a book series that begins with The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (1900) and relate the fictional history of the Land of Oz. Oz was created by author L. Frank Baum, who went on to write fourteen full-length Oz books. 

Even while he was alive, Baum was styled as "the Royal Historian of Oz" to emphasize the concept that Oz is an actual place. The illusion created was that characters such as Dorothy and Princess Ozma related their adventures in Oz to Baum themselves, by means of wireless telegraph.

- The Wonderful Wizard of Oz:

Book 1 of L. Frank Baum’s beloved OZ books. (1899).

Dorothy is a young girl who lives on a Kansas farm with her Uncle Henry, Aunt Em, and little dog Toto. One day the farmhouse, with Dorothy inside, is caught up in a tornado and deposited in a field in the country of the Munchkins. The falling house kills the Wicked Witch of the East.

- The Marvelous Land of Oz:

Book 2 of L. Frank Baum’s beloved OZ books. (1904)

First issued in 1904, L. Frank Baum's The Marvelous Land of Oz is the story of the wonderful adventures of the young boy named Tip as he travels throughout the many lands of Oz. Here he meets with our old friends the Scarecrow and Tin Woodman, as well as some new friends like Jack Pumpkinhead, the Wooden Sawhorse, the Highly Magnified Woggle-Bug, and the amazing Gump.

The Marvelous Land of Oz is the second book in Baum’s Oz series. The series chronicles the further adventures of Dorothy both in and out of Oz, as she deals with the characters, situations and desires which continue to spill over from her first fateful adventure. Tip and his creation, Jack Pumpkin, run away to Oz, where they save the city after it is captured by girls.

- Ozma of Oz:

Book 3 of L. Frank Baum’s beloved OZ books. (1907)

Blown overboard while sailing with her uncle, Dorothy finds herself in the fairy realm of Ev. She sets out with her friends to rescue the Queen of Ev and her ten children, who have been imprisoned by the cruel Nome King. But even Ozma, the wise Ruler of Oz, is no match for the clever king, and it’s up to Dorothy to save everyone from terrible danger. But will the Nome King’s enchantments be too much even for the plucky little girl from Kansas?

- Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz:

Book 4 of L. Frank Baum’s beloved OZ books.  (1908)

The fourth book in Baum’s Oz series, Dorothy returns to lands of magic and fantasy with her cousin Zeb, kitten Eureka, and a cab-horse named Jim. They encounter vegetable people living under the world, and Dorothy is reunited with the Wizard of Oz when he floats down in his hot air balloon. They later are aided by invisible people in the Valley of Voe, and must escape several unfriendly mythical creatures to return to Oz. Baum’s vivid imagination and creativity are readily apparent in this adventurous work, for he combines wonderful characters with an entertaining plot in a land at once familiar and full of enigmatic possibility.

- The Road to Oz:

Book 5 of L. Frank Baum’s beloved OZ books. (1909)

Dorothy and her friend, Polychrome, find themselves on a road through some strange places, to the Land of the Winkies, and on to beautiful Emerald City. But why are they there, and how did they get there? Princess Ozma of Oz sent for them, and the Cowardly Lion and the Scarecrow, of course, to take part in her lavish birthday celebration.

3. The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling.

The Jungle Book (1894) is a collection of stories written by Rudyard Kipling. The tales in the book (and also those in The Second Jungle Book which followed in 1895, and which includes five further stories about Mowgli) are fables, using animals in an anthropomorphic manner to give moral lessons. The verses of The Law of the Jungle, for example, lay down rules for the safety of individuals, families and communities. Kipling put in them nearly everything he knew or "heard or dreamed about the Indian jungle."

Fiction & Literature
December 9
GB Software
Sergiy Kurash

More Books by Hans Andersen