Far from the Tree Far from the Tree

Far from the Tree

    • 4.4 • 193 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

National Book Award Winner, PEN America Award Winner, and New York Times Bestseller!

Perfect for fans of This Is Us, Robin Benway’s beautiful interweaving story of three very different teenagers connected by blood explores the meaning of family in all its forms—how to find it, how to keep it, and how to love it. 

Being the middle child has its ups and downs.

But for Grace, an only child who was adopted at birth, discovering that she is a middle child is a different ride altogether. After putting her own baby up for adoption, she goes looking for her biological family, including—

Maya, her loudmouthed younger bio sister, who has a lot to say about their newfound family ties. Having grown up the snarky brunette in a house full of chipper redheads, she’s quick to search for traces of herself among these not-quite-strangers. And when her adopted family’s long-buried problems begin to explode to the surface, Maya can’t help but wonder where exactly it is that she belongs.

And Joaquin, their stoic older bio brother, who has no interest in bonding over their shared biological mother. After seventeen years in the foster care system, he’s learned that there are no heroes, and secrets and fears are best kept close to the vest, where they can’t hurt anyone but him.

Don't miss this moving novel that addresses such important topics as adoption, teen pregnancy, and foster care.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2017
October 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperTeen
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2.3
MB
AUDIENCE
Eighth Grade

Customer Reviews

Melblevs ,

The easiest five stars

Wow.

What a beautifully written book. Shed a couple tears. A couple laughs.

Read this. You won’t be sorry.

PurpleRaven😈💜 ,

Touching and heart warming

I have a personal connection to the characters, and because of that, this book made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me feel mad, and it made me feel so many different emotions. I love how the story’s told from 3 people point of view, and how each person is different in their own unique ways, from chewing on straws, to talking nonstop. If you haven’t read this book, then you have NO idea what your missing.

mercedes011 ,

a wonderful story

i can’t stop crying

More Books Like This

The Islanders: Volume 2 The Islanders: Volume 2
2015
The Islanders: Volume 1 The Islanders: Volume 1
2015
The Islanders: Volume 3 The Islanders: Volume 3
2015
Emancipated Emancipated
2015
The Fairy Tale Thief The Fairy Tale Thief
2021
Girls in Pants: The Third Summer of the Sisterhood Girls in Pants: The Third Summer of the Sisterhood
2005

More Books by Robin Benway

Audrey, Wait! Audrey, Wait!
2008
The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May, & June The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May, & June
2010
The Dark Ascension Series: The Wicked Ones (Volume 1) The Dark Ascension Series: The Wicked Ones (Volume 1)
2023
Also Known As Also Known As
2013
A Year to the Day A Year to the Day
2022
Going Rogue: An Also Known As novel Going Rogue: An Also Known As novel
2014

Customers Also Bought

Challenger Deep Challenger Deep
2015
Bright Burning Things Bright Burning Things
2021
Far From the Tree Far From the Tree
2012
Darius the Great Is Not Okay Darius the Great Is Not Okay
2018
What's Mine and Yours What's Mine and Yours
2021
After Annie After Annie
2024