Publisher Description

Set apart from other eighteen year olds, Ana Hughes knows she is different. A life threatening heart condition smothers her future and she yearns to feel normal. Her hopes are pinned on a fresh start in a remote town far from her native Colorado. Among the locker filled hallways in Clark Bend High, Ana keeps to the shadows, not wanting to draw attention to her violet tinged lips and wilted silhouette. And she almost succeeds, until she meets Chance Morgan.

Struggling to keep up appearances, she soon suspects Chance is hiding something as well. His animal-like senses, miraculous healing ability and peculiar reaction to her Thunderbird necklace compels Ana to question if there's more to the stories about his Navajo ancestry. Without any other explanation, she fears he is playing tricks on her. But the truth may prove too much for Ana's delicate heart...

Young Adult
August 14
Natasha Brown
Smashwords, Inc.

Customer Reviews

KiddieLitMom ,

Sweet book with some mystery and adventure

Ana is a senior in high school who has met her first true crush and plans to keep her “secret” hidden from him and others for as long as possible so that she can have the “normal” senior year she dreams of living. It turns out Chance is no ordinary guy and he holds a secret of his own. Ultimately their love and devotion to one another is proven.

The story moves along nicely and was a book I didn’t want to put down, yet it seemed to get more glitchy toward the end. I read the intro to book two, but was not hooked enough to pursue more.

Lollypopcentral ,


I had a love/hate relationship with this book. At first I thought it was good, yes. But once I got to the middle, I was just ready to stop reading. There was no drama, there was no nothing. I expected a little more than just “okay” when she finds out about him. I cant finish the book, it’s just too boring.

Texas mixer❤ ,


Grammar errors so frequent it takes away from the story. Undeveloped plot and shallow characterization.

More Books by Natasha Brown

Other Books in This Series