• $9.99

Publisher Description

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark, sweeping debut fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn't the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose—to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he'll return the world's captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can't control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can't hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn't learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood—and her world—whole.

"A brilliant dark fantasy debut!" —Jodi Picoult, NYT bestselling author

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2021
June 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
480
Pages
PUBLISHER
Orbit
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
4.5
MB

Customer Reviews

mmarcone912 ,

Lovely fairy tale story & romance

I’ve had my eye on this book for a while before it came out, and I wasn’t disappointed! As you might guess, the story takes elements from the classic Red Riding Hood fairy tale, but it also combines bits and pieces of other stories like Beauty & the Beast and Snow White. Lovers of fables & fairy tales will definitely love this book.

The romance was really well done, building up the attraction and tension between the characters slowly to make it worth it. I give 4 stars instead of 5 because I felt like the characters were a bit melodramatic and cliche in some cases, acting a little too much like teen heroes instead of adults. Overall though I’m looking forward to the next book!

E John-Paul ,

Ugh

Plodding and circuitous. I finally gave up out of boredom the last quarter of the story and leafed through the conclusion without reading it.

This Gal ,

Rich, verdant and beautiful

This is a wonderful rewrite of an old tale. Hannah has taken and created a complex and beautiful story. I love the descriptions of the forest especially.