• $2.99

Publisher Description

Now is the time to tell the story of an ancient realm, a tragic tale that sets the stage for all the tales yet to come and all those already told...

It's a conflicted time in Kurald Galain, the realm of Darkness, where Mother Dark reigns. But this ancient land was once home to many a power. and even death is not quite eternal. The commoners' great hero, Vatha Urusander, is being promoted by his followers to take Mother Dark's hand in marriage, but her Consort, Lord Draconus, stands in the way of such ambitions. The impending clash sends fissures throughout the realm, and as the rumors of civil war burn through the masses, an ancient power emerges from the long dead seas. Caught in the middle of it all are the First Sons of Darkness, Anomander, Andarist, and Silchas Ruin of the Purake Hold...

Steven Erikson entered the pantheon of great fantasy writers with his debut Gardens of the Moon. Now he returns with the first novel in a trilogy that takes place millennia before the events of the Malazan Book of the Fallen and introduces readers to Kurald Galain, the warren of Darkness. It is the epic story of a realm whose fate plays a crucial role in shaping the world of the Malazan Empire.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
September 18
Tom Doherty Associates

Customer Reviews

Thedymar ,


This book is amazing

poppy106 ,

All flowery writing – no action

Gardens of the moon had wonderful action sequences around which were beautifully written dialog, descriptions and commentary. You grew to love the characters that became uncovered to you as they accomplished things, fought together, carried out plots or simply carried out mundane tasks together. This book, like the last several seem to just be a canvas upon which Erikson writes his philosophical views and musings. After reading the sample, i'm going to pass on this one and hope for return to some of his earlier writing styles like House of Chains.

More Books by Steven Erikson

Other Books in This Series