Four Queens

The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe

    • 4.0 • 6 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser, acclaimed author Nancy Goldstone’s thrilling history of the royal daughters who succeeded in ruling—and shaping—thirteenth-century Europe

Set against the backdrop of the thirteenth century, a time of chivalry and crusades, troubadors, knights and monarchs, Four Queens is the story of four provocative sisters—Marguerite, Eleanor, Sanchia, and Beatrice of Provence—who rose from near obscurity to become the most coveted and powerful women in Europe.  Each sister in this extraordinary family was beautiful, cultured, and accomplished but what made these women so remarkable was that each became queen of a principal European power—France, England, Germany and Sicily. During their reigns, they exercised considerable political authority, raised armies, intervened diplomatically and helped redraw the map of Europe.  Theirs is a drama of courage, sagacity and ambition that re-examines the concept of leadership in the Middle Ages.

GENRE
History
RELEASED
2007
April 19
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
2.2
MB

Customer Reviews

swtxmimi ,

Loved it!!

I love this time period of European history and Goldstone made this nonfiction into an amazing literary experience for me!!!

More Books by Nancy Goldstone

2015
2002
2012
2018
2021
2018

Customers Also Bought

2018
2011
2021
2011
2016
2018