• $6.99

Publisher Description

Sergeant Kendra Pacelli is innocent, but that doesn't matter to the repressive government pursuing her. Mistakes might be made, but they are never acknowledged, especially when billions of embezzled dollars earned from illegal weapons sales are at stake. But where does one run when all Earth and most settled planets are under the aegis of one government? Answer: The Freehold of Grainne. There, one may seek asylum and build a new life in a society that doesn't track its residents every move, which is just what Pacelli has done. But now things are about to go royally to hell. Because Earth's government has found out where she is, and they want her back. Or dead.

This all-new offering contains Michael Z. Williamson’s brilliant novel Freehold plus three new stories along with a complete new novella—each set within the legendary Freehold series universe. Contains these additional stories: "Humans Call It Duty," "The Price,” "Soft Casualty," and novella “The Brute Force Approach."

At the publisher's request, this title is sold without DRM (Digital Rights Management).

About Michael Z. Williamson:
“A fast-paced, compulsive read…will appeal to fans of John Ringo, David Drake, Lois McMaster Bujold, and David Weber.” – Kliatt

“Williamson's military expertise is impressive.” –SF Reviews

Michael Z. Williamson is retired from the US military, having served twenty-five years in the U.S. Army and the U.S. Air Force. He was deployed for Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Desert Fox. Williamson is a state-ranked competitive shooter in combat rifle and combat pistol. He has consulted on military matters, weapons and disaster preparedness for Discovery Channel and Outdoor Channel productions and is Editor-at-Large for Survivalblog, with 300,000 weekly readers. In addition, Williamson tests and reviews firearms and gear for manufacturers. Williamson’s books set in his Freehold Universe include Freehold, Better to Beg Forgiveness, and When Diplomacy Fails. He is also the author of The Hero–written in collaboration with New York Times best-selling author John Ringo. Williamson was born in England, raised in Liverpool and Toronto, Canada, and now resides in Indianapolis with his wife and two children.

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2014
January 16
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
688
Pages
PUBLISHER
Baen Books
SELLER
Baen Publishing Enterprises
SIZE
1.2
MB

Customer Reviews

ShadowKnightMDH ,

Why two stars

MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

This book feels like a teenage republican had a wet dream and decided to write it down. The main characters development seems stunted and laughable. As in she only develops in a way that a hormonal teenager with a hard on for guns and violence would. Now I typically love sci-fi violence I read 40k for gods sake but A therapist literally asks her if killing made her wet and it focuses a lot on how much her nipples are tingling instead of actual story. overall if the book didn’t over sexualize every second of the book I would have enjoyed it.

More Books by Michael Z. Williamson

Other Books in This Series