From the Ashes From the Ashes
Book 16 - Psychic Visions

From the Ashes

    • 4.5 • 66 Ratings
    • $8.99
    • $8.99

Publisher Description

Born and raised in a cult with a fanatical father who believed she was destined for greater things, Phoenix endured a childhood of pain and torment. Not only was her father preparing her for the future he saw, he hated that she was stronger, better than he was.

When she’s finally rescued, her life slowly improves, but still her past hinders her future. Her father has gifted her with one special note, written on a material she has yet to destroy. In order to get rid of it forever, she travels to Iceland to her father’s hometown to visit a fissure of lava that opens every summer. Surely the material will burn in the lava? And she can then be rid of her father and the special note forever …

Detective Rowan Einar hates when the damn fissure opens as it always signifies the suicide season—a despicable time of year where people travel to his small corner of the world to end their lives. When a waif shows up with huge eyes and scars, both external and internal, he wants to ensure she won’t be the next suicide in town. But, when he hears her story, he wonders what is going on …

Then the deaths begin, … and he witnesses the visions and energies that he’s always been able to see have now merged with Phoenix’s energies, making the two of them stronger and more powerful. What they see though is even more terrifying …

Mysteries & Thrillers
January 7
Valley Publishing Ltd.
Valley Publishing Ltd.

Customer Reviews

Book Addict KJB ,

From the Ashes: Phoenix Rising and Paths Cross

I picked the book up, not sure what to expect, and I was blown away. Associate professor Phoenix Rising has scars outside and within. She journeys to Iceland in hopes of resolving issues from her past. The sheriff has skills not immediately apparent. Wow. The combination is explosive. Bravo. Their journey is not easy nor obvious. Many twists are found within the pages. I had a very hard time putting the book down (finished within a day because it was such a page turner). Bravo!

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

Harley Jean Matta ,


I was kindly provided this book as an ARC; in exchange for my honest review. This is book 16 of 17 in the Psychic Visions series.

With this series it’s not critical to read previous books in the series (although I cannot understand why a reader wouldn’t want to; as each book is wonderful.) Hands down the best series written by Ms. Dale.

Phoenix was Born and raised in a cult with a fanatical father who believed she was was “The Chosen One.” Her father tortured and burned her throughout her childhood (sometimes with the help of her mother, the other women, and her half siblings.)

Phoenix is finally rescued at age 11; but she’s still seemingly traumatized & hindered by her past.

After being laid-off Phoenix decides to travel to Iceland; to get fathers hometown to destroy a note that her father left for her in the lave fissure that open every spring.

Upon arrival Phoenix encounters Detective Rowan Einar. Rowan hates when the lava fissure opens as it brings the ‘suicide season.’ A time of year where people travel to his town to end their lives.

The story is interesting & ever evolving. We get a brief visit from Stefan, Dr Maddy & a new character Grayse. The book definitely grabs your attention & holds it. My only complaint was the ending was very rushed and felt premature. I definitely believe a few more chapters would make a big difference.

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

More Books Like This

Simon Says... Scream Simon Says... Scream
Harrison Investigation Series Volume 2 Harrison Investigation Series Volume 2
Wolfe, She Cried Wolfe, She Cried
Chilling Effect Chilling Effect
A Hard Day for a Hangover A Hard Day for a Hangover
Where There's Smoke Where There's Smoke

More Books by Dale Mayer

Tuesday's Child Tuesday's Child
Vampire in Denial Vampire in Denial
The Enchanted Box Set Collection The Enchanted Box Set Collection
Arsenic in the Azaleas Arsenic in the Azaleas
A Shade of Darkness (Paranormal Romance) A Shade of Darkness (Paranormal Romance)
Darlings of Urban Fantasy Darlings of Urban Fantasy

Customers Also Bought

The Protected The Protected
The Departed The Departed
The Doubted The Doubted
The Reunited The Reunited
Celeste Files: Unlocked Celeste Files: Unlocked
Touch of Rain Touch of Rain

Other Books in This Series

Stroke of Death Stroke of Death
Ice Maiden Ice Maiden
Snap, Crackle… Snap, Crackle…
Talking Bones Talking Bones
String of Tears String of Tears
Inked Forever Inked Forever