Publisher Description

He lost a wager . . . but won a treasure.

Due to a lost wager, the Duke of Ravenham is obliged to bring a pretty little nobody from the country into fashion among the high-sticklers of London Society. Ravenham would never refuse a debt of honor, no matter how unorthodox, so he overlooks Miss Gordon’s vulgar relations to do what is necessary, escorting the unsophisticated chit to balls, etc. But what he expects to be an irksome duty turns out to be something quite different as he falls under the spell of his protege’s innocent charm. When he lost that wager, he definitely never counted on losing his heart as well!

First impressions can be deceiving.

Miss Gabriella Gordon only came to London at her mother’s and sister’s insistence, for she’d much rather assist in running her father’s veterinary practice than attempt to fit into fashionable society. No sooner has she arrived in London than the exalted (and exceedingly handsome) Duke of Ravenham comes to call. The reason is less than flattering, however: due to a lost wager, the Duke is forced to bring Gabriella into fashion, a “favor” she would certainly refuse if her family would let her. But the more time she spends in the dashing Duke’s company, the more conflicted she feels— particularly when she discovers they have more in common than she ever dared dream.

March 3
Brenda Hiatt
Brenda Hiatt Barber

Customer Reviews

Monamee3 ,

Brenda Hiatt, “Gabriella”

Page turner romantic historical romance. Endearing characters, great plot. Did not want it to end.

True Mystery ,


I quit liked this story plot. Regency novels are my absolute favorite. An enjoyable read worth your time!

Akurani ,


The story dragged on and there was no spark between the main characters. How did they fall in love? They barely interacted with each other. The writing is terrible too, the author needed an editor for this clunky mess. How does one "rise smilingly?"
Please do not even attempt to venture into this meandering snooze fest.

More Books by Brenda Hiatt

Other Books in This Series