Book 1 - Rachel Savernake Golden Age Mysteries

Gallows Court

    • 3.8 • 108 Ratings
    • $15.99
    • $15.99

Publisher Description

"Superb—a pitch-perfect blend of Golden Age charm and sinister modern suspense, with a main character to die for. This is the book Edwards was born to write."—Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author

The first Golden Age-style mystery in the Rachel Savernake series… How close can one person get to a cruel justice system before falling victim to it?

London, 1930

Sooty, sulphurous, and malign: no woman should be out on a night like this. A spate of violent deaths—the details too foul to print—has horrified the capital and the smog-bound streets are deserted. But Rachel Savernake—the enigmatic daughter of a notorious hanging judge—is no ordinary woman. To Scotland Yard's embarrassment, she solved the Chorus Girl Murder, and now she's on the trail of another killer.

Jacob Flint, a young newspaperman temporarily manning The Clarion's crime desk, is looking for the scoop that will make his name. He's certain there is more to the Miss Savernake's amateur sleuthing than meets the eye. He's not the only one.

Flint's pursuit of Rachel Savernake will draw him ever-deeper into a labyrinth of deception and corruption. Murder-by-murder, he'll be swept ever-closer to its dark heart—and to the gallows themselves.

Dark, atmospheric, and hearkening back to the Golden Age mysteries, Gallows Court is:

• Perfect for fans of Sherry Thomas and Sophie Hannah
• For readers who enjoy British crime mysteries and historical fiction

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2019
September 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
Sourcebooks
SELLER
Sourcebooks, Inc.
SIZE
1.9
MB

Customer Reviews

its crime ,

Well I didn’t see that coming

Full of absolute horrible deaths and cleverly crafted with characters who unfold the story, this Martin Edwards novel was a rip roaring ride. It’s rare that I find books anymore that make me read at every chance I get and make me steal moments to get through a surprising event before I must get to an appointment, but this book had me. Enjoy!

AshleyFro ,

So fun!

Someone should make this into a Netflix show. Lots of fun twists and turns with great characters and I just loved it!

More Books Like This

2016
2002
2020
1991
2018
2008

More Books by Martin Edwards

2019
2022
2015
2022
2014
2018

Customers Also Bought

2020
2021
2020
2020
2020
2019

Other Books in This Series

2020
2023
2024