Girl in the Blue Coat

    • 4.3 • 154 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

The bestselling, "gripping" (Entertainment Weekly), "powerful" (Hypable), "utterly thrilling" (Paste.com) winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery, perfect for readers of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys.

Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion.

On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman's frantic plea to find a person--a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the horrors of the Nazi war machine, and compel her to take desperate action.

Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary novel about bravery, grief, and love in impossible times.

Don't miss The War Outside and They Went Left, two more gripping historical novels by Monica Hesse

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2016
April 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
6.4
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 7-17

Customer Reviews

3:\4/-4 ,

I e

See

grl hayyy ,

Amazing

Lately, a lot of books that I read that are said to be good end up not being good. This is this first book I’ve read in a while that lives up to it’s national bestseller status. It was so raw, exhilarating and suspenseful. It had me hooked and it was a truly gut-wrenching story. I absolutely loved it and I would totally recommend it.

hthereader ,

Best. Book. Ever.

One of the best books I’ve come across. Veryyyy Emotional, gripping and heart wrenching.

More Books by Monica Hesse

2017
2020
2018
2018
2016
2018

Customers Also Bought

2018
2019
2019
2016
2016
2018