• $0.99

Publisher Description

A riveting and all-action historical page-turner from bestselling author Douglas Jackson that will have you gripped from page one! Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane.

Readers are loving Gaius Valerius Verrens!

"The best Roman historical series I've yet read. Just pips Ben Kane and Conn Iggulden." - 5 STARS
"I found this one hard to put down as there was action and intrigue from start to finish" - 5 STARS
"Fantastic story and character creation" - 5 STARS
"A simple plot but pace never lets up and keeps you wanting to "just read the next chapter before I put it down" - 5 STARS

*************************************


77AD.
Gaius Valerius Verrens is an honoured member of Emperor Vespasian's inner circle, but the enmity between him and Vespasian's son Domitian means that, even in Rome, danger is never far away.

Meanwhile, in the outer reaches of the Empire, in Britannia, trouble is brewing.

The governor, Agricola is preparing to march his legions north and Valerius is Agricola's chief legal adviser and deputy governor. It's the opportunity he seeks to move his wife and son out of reach of Domitian's wrath.

The massacre of a Roman garrison and suspicious death throw Agricola's preparations into confusion. Now his eyes turn west to Mona and the Druids, who still harbour hopes of ridding Britannia of Roman rule. But to deal with them, Agricola needs a soldier he can trust to lead the legion. Only one man in the province has the experience and the ability . . .

So a reluctant Valerius picks up his sword once more. He soon comes to understand that any glory his new legion wins is likely to be fleeting and tainted - and that he has placed his family in deadly peril.

Gaius Valerius Verrens's adventures conclude in Hammer of Rome
.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
August 10
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
528
Pages
PUBLISHER
Transworld
SELLER
The Random House Group Limited
SIZE
2.5
MB

Customer Reviews

NoBrainerToMe ,

Glory of Rome

Excellent writer. Very well researched. A little disconnected - did not flow well at times - stories within stories. Overall well written and helped a novice as myself learn about Roman and Celtic history.

More Books by Douglas Jackson

Other Books in This Series