Go as a River Go as a River

Go as a River

A Novel

    • 4.4 • 671 Ratings
    • $2.99
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

* Finalist for Goodreads Choice Award * Colorado Public Radio 2023 Books We Love *

Set amid Colorado’s wild beauty, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story of a resilient young woman whose life is changed forever by one chance encounter. A tragic and uplifting novel of love and loss, family and survival—and hope—for readers of Great Circle, The Four Winds, and Where the Crawdads Sing.

“Beautiful . . . A striking first novel of love and strength and growth, set against the forests and rivers of Colorado’s high country. Read is a gifted writer, and the book is a literary triumph.”—Denver Post

“With gorgeous descriptions of the great outdoors, an illicit love story, and an unforgettable protagonist, Go as a River offers something for everyone.”—Real Simple

Seventeen-year-old Victoria Nash runs the household on her family’s peach farm in the small ranch town of Iola, Colorado—the sole surviving female in a family of troubled men. Wilson Moon is a young drifter with a mysterious past, displaced from his tribal land and determined to live as he chooses.

Victoria encounters Wil by chance on a street corner, a meeting that profoundly alters both of their young lives, unknowingly igniting as much passion as danger. When tragedy strikes, Victoria leaves the only life she has ever known. She flees into the surrounding mountains where she struggles to survive in the wilderness with no clear notion of what her future will bring. As the seasons change, she also charts the changes in herself, finding in the beautiful but harsh landscape the meaning and strength to move forward and rebuild all that she has lost, even as the Gunnison River threatens to submerge her homeland—its ranches, farms, and the beloved peach orchard that has been in her family for generations.

Inspired by true events surrounding the destruction of the town of Iola in the 1960s, Go as a River is a story of deeply held love in the face of hardship and loss, but also of finding courage, resilience, friendship, and, finally, home—where least expected. This stunning debut explores what it means to lead your life as if it were a river—gathering and flowing, finding a way forward even when a river is dammed.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
February 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
276
Pages
PUBLISHER
Spiegel & Grau
SELLER
Perseus Books, LLC
SIZE
2
MB

Customer Reviews

balance3 ,

Lovely Story

The descriptions are put on paper with such beauty. A heartfelt story of life.

Redneck RN ,

A river runs

An epilogue would have been nice

Cycle length ,

Excellent Read

Very well written, tugs a bit at the heart but is steadfast in its resilience. I enjoyed this quick read very much.

More Books Like This

Stone Cradle Stone Cradle
2014
Dovetails in Tall Grass Dovetails in Tall Grass
2021
The Magic of Ordinary Days The Magic of Ordinary Days
2001
I Thought My Father Was God I Thought My Father Was God
2002
Dalva Dalva
2013
After After
2012

More Books by Shelley Read

Como si fuera un río Como si fuera un río
2024
Va où la rivière te porte Va où la rivière te porte
2024
Popłynę przed siebie jak rzeka Popłynę przed siebie jak rzeka
2024
Popłynę przed siebie jak rzeka Popłynę przed siebie jak rzeka
2024
Θα γίνω ποτάμι Θα γίνω ποτάμι
2023
Akár a folyó Akár a folyó
2023

Customers Also Bought

The Frozen River The Frozen River
2023
Beyond That, the Sea Beyond That, the Sea
2023
The Berry Pickers The Berry Pickers
2023
The Nature of Fragile Things The Nature of Fragile Things
2021
All the Broken Places All the Broken Places
2022
The River We Remember The River We Remember
2023