Good Morning, Midnight Good Morning, Midnight

Good Morning, Midnight

A Novel

    • 4.1 • 157 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

“A remarkable and gifted debut novel” (Colson Whitehead) about two outsiders—a lonely scientist in the Arctic and an astronaut trying to return to Earth—as they grapple with love, regret, and survival in a world transformed. 

THE INSPIRATION FOR THE NETFLIX ORIGINAL FILM THE MIDNIGHT SKY, DIRECTED BY AND STARRING GEORGE CLOONEY

Augustine, a brilliant, aging astronomer, is consumed by the stars. For years he has lived in remote outposts, studying the sky for evidence of how the universe began. At his latest posting, in a research center in the Arctic, news of a catastrophic event arrives. The scientists are forced to evacuate, but Augustine stubbornly refuses to abandon his work. Shortly after the others have gone, Augustine discovers a mysterious child, Iris, and realizes that the airwaves have gone silent. They are alone.

At the same time, Mission Specialist Sullivan is aboard the Aether on its return flight from Jupiter. The astronauts are the first human beings to delve this deep into space, and Sully has made peace with the sacrifices required of her: a daughter left behind, a marriage ended. So far the journey has been a success. But when Mission Control falls inexplicably silent, Sully and her crewmates are forced to wonder if they will ever get home.

As Augustine and Sully each face an uncertain future against forbidding yet beautiful landscapes, their stories gradually intertwine in a profound and unexpected conclusion. In crystalline prose, Good Morning, Midnight poses the most important questions: What endures at the end of the world? How do we make sense of our lives? Lily Brooks-Dalton’s captivating debut is a meditation on the power of love and the bravery of the human heart.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SHELF AWARENESS AND THE CHICAGO REVIEW OF BOOKS

“Stunningly gorgeous . . . The book contemplates the biggest questions—What is left at the end of the world? What is the impact of a life’s work?”Portland Mercury 

“A beautifully written, sparse post-apocalyptic novel that explores memory, loss and identity . . . Fans of Emily St. John Mandel’s Station Eleven and Kim Stanley Robinson’s Aurora will appreciate the Brooks-Dalton’s exquisite exploration of relationships in extreme environments.”The Washington Post

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2016
August 9
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
272
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
2.8
MB

Customer Reviews

jk001 ,

A good read

Unlikely the world behind, this time I read the novel before seeing the movie. I’ve never seen the movie. And didn’t know it existed. It could’ve been a great novel. If there was one more conversation between Augustine and Mission specialist Sullivan.

Spoilers.
About 2/3 of the way through the novel I could start to see the connection as well as figure out who the little girl was. That may be tribute to the author carefully guiding the reader to see the connections.

v-j-weed ,

Wow

Every once in awhile, you read a book that speaks to your mind, heart, and soul. Brooks-Dalton creates amazing characters and weaves together heavy themes so masterfully. Loved this book. One of the best I’ve read in quite sometime.

MagFieldRev ,

Real?

I liked arctic Iris and believed in her long after it became obvious she was but a filigree. Later, I wondered if Augie was real. But if not, which of the characters was. At least one must be to imagine all the rest. And if just one, it would explain the loneliness.

More Books Like This

Dead Echo Dead Echo
2014
Atonement Atonement
2002
Wool Wool
2020
The Bobcat The Bobcat
2019
Red Equinox Red Equinox
2015
The World Gives Way The World Gives Way
2021

More Books by Lily Brooks-Dalton

The Light Pirate The Light Pirate
2022
Motorcycles I've Loved Motorcycles I've Loved
2015
Figlia dell'uragano Figlia dell'uragano
2023
Az éjféli égbolt Az éjféli égbolt
2020
Minuit dans l'univers Minuit dans l'univers
2020
El cel de mitjanit El cel de mitjanit
2020

Customers Also Bought

The Last Astronaut The Last Astronaut
2019
Across the Sand Across the Sand
2022
How High We Go in the Dark How High We Go in the Dark
2022
The Gone World The Gone World
2018
Mickey7 Mickey7
2022
The Space Between Worlds The Space Between Worlds
2020