• $8.99

Publisher Description


In the Days of the Comet (1906)

The Invisible Man (1897)

The Soul Of A Bishop (1917)

The Island of Doctor Moreau (1896)

Tales of Space and Time (1900)

The New Machiavelli (1911)

The Passionate Friends (1913)

The Research Magnificent (1915)

The Country of the Blind And Other Stories (1911)

The Crystal Egg (1897)

The Door in the Wall and Other Stories (1911)

The War in the Air (1908)

The War of the Worlds (1898)

The Wheels of Chance (1896)

Secret Places of the Heart (1922)

Ann Veronica (1909)

In The Fourth Year - Anticipations of a World Peace (1918)

Love and Mr. Lewisham (1900)

Mr. Britling Sees It Through (1916)

Tono Bungay (1909)

Twelve Stories and a Dream (1903)

A Modern Utopia (1905)

Floor Games (1911)

Little Wars (1913)

The World Set Free (1914)

The Wife of Sir Isaac Harman (1914)

What is Coming? (1916)

War and the Future (1916)

A Short History of the World (1922)

The First Men in the Moon (1901)

When the Sleeper Wakes (1899)

Anticipations (1902)

The Outline of History (1920)

The Food of the Gods and How It Came to Earth (1904)

The Sleeper Awakes (1910)

The History of Mr. Polly

God, the Invisible King (1917)

Kipps (1922)

The Time Machine (1898)

The War in the Air (1908)

A story of the awful devastation following a conflict between two first-class powers with the resources of the air at their command. It is one of the most brilliant and successful of Mr. Wells's studies in futurity.

The War of the Worlds describes the fictional 1895 invasion of Earth by aliens from Mars who use laser-like Heat-Rays, chemical weapons, and mechanical three-legged ''fighting machines'' that could potentially be viewed as precursors to the tank. After defeating the resistance the Martians devastate much of eastern England, including London...


The Wheels of Chance (1896)

The story of a down-on-his-luck draper's assistant who takes a second-hand bicycle on a tour through the English countryside. He meets a young woman on the run from her seducer in addition to a string of other amusing characters..


Secret Places of the Heart (1922)

Modern psychiatry--a keen-witted egotistic Englishman, a sprightly American girl--delightful companionship through the historic villages of springtime England--and much brilliant discussion ranging over the past and future topics of world-wide significance.


Ann Veronica (1909)

concentrating specifically on feminist issues, through the course this novel the heroine matures from an innocent and naïve girl to a representative of the New Woman.


Mr. Britling Sees It Through (1916)

For Mr Britling, eccentric and vivacious writer, the summer of 1914 consisted of long, hot days and luxurious house parties with a host of international guests to entertain him. And when he tired of this, he hopped across the channel where his devoted mistress was patiently waiting. But all this was about to change as Germany began marching into Belgium and Europe no longer provided the easy diversion he had so enjoyed. Mr Britling soon came to realise that this war was more than simply an inconvenience, and was a dangerous threat to those he loved. But all he could do was sit at home and wait. (Number one best selling novel of 1917.)


Little Wars (1913)

The game revolves around lead soldiers and battlefields made from whatever materials were on hand, usually blocks or other toys. Little Wars is considered by some to be the first modern table top war game. It includes rules for infantry, cavalry, and even artillery in the form of toy naval guns that launch projectiles. In addition to being a war game manual, the development of the game is revealed as well as Wells' belief in pacifism.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
April 11
kaichien ku

More Books by H.G. Wells