Halfway to the Sky

    • 4.2 • 20 Ratings
    • $7.99
    • $7.99

Publisher Description

From the Newbery Honor and Schneider Award-winning author of The War that Saved My Life comes Halfway to the Sky, a compelling novel perfect for fans of Rain Reign.

   Twelve-year-old Dani is running away from home, or what’s left of home anyway. Her older brother, who had muscular dystrophy, died a few months ago. Then her father left and her parents got divorced. Now home is just Dani and her sad, silent mother, and Dani’s got to get away. She plans to do something amazing, and go where her parents will never find her: she’s going to hike the whole Appalachian Trail, from Georgia to Maine. The trail is a legend in her family, the place where her parents met, fell in love, and got married 14 years before.
    Unfortunately for her master plan, her mother doesn’t have much trouble figuring out where Dani’s gone. Now it’s the two of them, hiking for as long as Dani can manage to persuade her mother to keep going. But Dani’s got an even longer emotional journey to make—and it’s one she and her mom need to make together.

"A wise and thoughtful book."-The Bulletin

"[Readers] will readily relate to the angst and anger and be intrigued by the details about the Trail itself."-Kirkus Reviews

GENRE
Kids
RELEASED
2002
April 9
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
176
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Children's Books
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
2.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Mom2sixP ,

Love it

This is a great story for someone like me with a slight interest in the Appalachian trail, but no real knowledge of it. It’s also a heartwarming story of motherhood , daughters and family.

Fjxbkf ,

Halfway to the sky

It is so sad I want to cry so bad !!!

More Books by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

2015
2017
2003
2020
2004
2022

Customers Also Bought

2017
2018