• $6.99

Publisher Description

With unprecedented scope and consummate skill, Norman Mailer unfolds a rich and riveting epic of an American spy. Harry Hubbard is the son and godson of CIA legends. His journey to learn the secrets of his society—and his own past—takes him through the Bay of Pigs, the Cuban Missile Crisis, and the “momentous catastrophe” of the Kennedy assassination. All the while, Hubbard is haunted by women who were loved by both his godfather and President Kennedy. Featuring a tapestry of unforgettable characters both real and imagined, Harlot’s Ghost is a panoramic achievement in the tradition of Tolstoy, Melville, and Balzac, a triumph of Mailer’s literary prowess.
 
Praise for Harlot’s Ghost
 
“[Norman Mailer is] the right man to exalt the history of the CIA into something better than history.”—Anthony Burgess, The Washington Post Book World
 
“Elegantly written and filled with almost electric tension . . . When I returned from the world of Harlot’s Ghost to the present I wished to be enveloped again by Mailer’s imagination.”—Robert Wilson, USA Today
 
“Immense, fascinating, and in large part brilliant.”—Salman Rushdie, The Independent on Sunday
 
“A towering creation . . . a fiction as real and as possible as actual history.”The New York Times
 
Praise for Norman Mailer
 
“[Norman Mailer] loomed over American letters longer and larger than any other writer of his generation.”The New York Times
 
“A writer of the greatest and most reckless talent.”The New Yorker
 
“Mailer is indispensable, an American treasure.”The Washington Post
 
“A devastatingly alive and original creative mind.”Life
 
“Mailer is fierce, courageous, and reckless and nearly everything he writes has sections of headlong brilliance.”The New York Review of Books
 
“The largest mind and imagination [in modern] American literature . . . Unlike just about every American writer since Henry James, Mailer has managed to grow and become richer in wisdom with each new book.”Chicago Tribune
 
“Mailer is a master of his craft. His language carries you through the story like a leaf on a stream.”The Cincinnati Post

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
1992
September 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
1,168
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
9.6
MB

Customer Reviews

LOB10 ,

Time spotlights the Highlites

By now Mailer has mastered the rhythms of the high life and the low lifes. No excess flexing of knowledge or muscles. Just tell a good story with a useful narrator, like Nick Carroway.
In 2016 we have seen Cuba and watched Fidel
Outlast the West. He is gone, Raul is going and a good history may be possible. We, the US,
Can still screw it up. They, whoever they become can screw it up.
We can guess there will be secrets, romance and old men protecting turf, while young men try to get a piece.

gregmag ,

One of my favorite books

Haven't tried ebook but I bought the hardback when it was published. Fiction around the skeleton of fact of the early CIA.

Excellent read

More Books by Norman Mailer