Hausfrau Hausfrau

Hausfrau

A Novel

    • 3.6 • 162 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE, THE HUFFINGTON POST, AND SHELF AWARENESS • “In Hausfrau, Anna Karenina goes Fifty Shades with a side of Madame Bovary.”—Time

“A debut novel about Anna, a bored housewife who, like her Tolstoyan namesake, throws herself into a psychosexual journey of self-discovery and tragedy.”—O: The Oprah Magazine

“Sexy and insightful, this gorgeously written novel opens a window into one woman’s desperate soul.”People


Anna was a good wife, mostly. For readers of The Girl on the Train and The Woman Upstairs comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning.

Anna Benz, an American in her late thirties, lives with her Swiss husband, Bruno—a banker—and their three young children in a postcard-perfect suburb of Zürich. Though she leads a comfortable, well-appointed life, Anna is falling apart inside. Adrift and increasingly unable to connect with the emotionally unavailable Bruno or even with her own thoughts and feelings, Anna tries to rouse herself with new experiences: German language classes, Jungian analysis, and a series of sexual affairs she enters with an ease that surprises even her.

But Anna can’t easily extract herself from these affairs. When she wants to end them, she finds it’s difficult. Tensions escalate, and her lies start to spin out of control. Having crossed a moral threshold, Anna will discover where a woman goes when there is no going back.

Intimate, intense, and written with the precision of a Swiss Army knife, Jill Alexander Essbaum’s debut novel is an unforgettable story of marriage, fidelity, sex, morality, and most especially self. Navigating the lines between lust and love, guilt and shame, excuses and reasons, Anna Benz is an electrifying heroine whose passions and choices readers will debate with recognition and fury. Her story reveals, with honesty and great beauty, how we create ourselves and how we lose ourselves and the sometimes disastrous choices we make to find ourselves.

Praise for Hausfrau

“Elegant . . . There is much to admire in Essbaum’s intricately constructed, meticulously composed novel, including its virtuosic intercutting of past and present.”Chicago Tribune

“For a first novelist, Essbaum is extraordinary because she is a poet. Her language is meticulous and resonant and daring.”—NPR’s Weekend Edition

“We’re in literary territory as familiar as Anna’s name, but Essbaum makes it fresh with sharp prose and psychological insight.”San Francisco Chronicle

“This marvelously quiet book is psychologically complex and deeply intimate. . . . One of the smartest novels in recent memory.”The Dallas Morning News

“Essbaum’s poignant, shocking debut novel rivets.”Us Weekly

“A powerful, lyrical novel . . . Hausfrau boasts taut pacing and melodrama, but also a fully realized heroine as love-hateable as Emma Bovary.”The Huffington Post

“Imagine Tom Perrotta’s American nowheresvilles swapped out for a tidy Zürich suburb, sprinkled liberally with sharp riffs on Swiss-German grammar and European hypocrisy.”New York

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2015
March 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
6.9
MB

Customer Reviews

lrl51 ,

Touching and sad

I disagree with the other reviews. I found this painfully sad. This woman felt empty inside despite all she had. I was moved by this book.

Strawberryshortcake5476577 ,

Save your money

This story is pointless, depressing, and unchanging from beginning to end.

Colleenie-weenie ,

Needles in my eyes!

I never ever write reviews. However this book was so God awful I simply had to. If you're considering buying this book please just don't! Run. Put your phone down. Go take a cold shower and rethink flushing your hard earned money down the pot. Nothing. Not one God forsaken thing about this book was good. Depressing plot, self loathing unlike able characters and no ending. Not even finality to this crappy story. Please. Just. Don't.

More Books Like This

Before Everything Before Everything
2017
Home Home
2021
The Keepsake Sisters The Keepsake Sisters
2021
Mother's Day Mother's Day
2023
Wish Come True Wish Come True
2011
Necessary Lies Necessary Lies
2000

More Books by Jill Alexander Essbaum

Hausfrau Hausfrau
2015
La buena esposa La buena esposa
2016
Hausfrau Hausfrau
2015
Una donna pericolosa Una donna pericolosa
2017
Hausfrau Hausfrau
2016

Customers Also Bought

Where'd You Go, Bernadette Where'd You Go, Bernadette
2012
My Dark Vanessa My Dark Vanessa
2020
A Slow Fire Burning A Slow Fire Burning
2021
Such a Fun Age Such a Fun Age
2019
Nine Perfect Strangers Nine Perfect Strangers
2018
The Searcher The Searcher
2020