Haven Point

A Novel

    • 4.3 • 90 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"The book equivalent of a beach getaway." —PopSugar


"A stunning debut." BookRiot

A sweeping debut novel about the generations of a family that spends summers in a seaside enclave on Maine's rocky coastline, for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Beatriz Williams, and Sarah Blake.


1944: Maren Larsen is a blonde beauty from a small Minnesota farming town, determined to do her part to help the war effort––and to see the world beyond her family’s cornfields. As a cadet nurse at Walter Reed Medical Center, she’s swept off her feet by Dr. Oliver Demarest, a handsome Boston Brahmin whose family spends summers in an insular community on the rocky coast of Maine.

1970: As the nation grapples with the ongoing conflict in Vietnam, Oliver and Maren are grappling with their fiercely independent seventeen-year-old daughter, Annie, who has fallen for a young man they don’t approve of. Before the summer is over a terrible tragedy will strike the Demarests––and in the aftermath, Annie vows never to return to Haven Point.

2008: Annie’s daughter, Skye, has arrived in Maine to help scatter her mother’s ashes. Maren knows that her granddaughter inherited Annie’s view of Haven Point: despite the wild beauty and quaint customs, the regattas and clambakes and sing-alongs, she finds the place––and the people––snobbish and petty. But Maren also knows that Annie never told Skye the whole truth about what happened during that fateful summer.

Over seven decades of a changing America, through wars and storms, betrayals and reconciliations, Haven Point explores what it means to belong to a place, and to a family, which holds as tightly to its traditions as it does its secrets.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
June 8
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
St. Martin's Publishing Group
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
4.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Debbiea10 ,

Mixed feelings

The book started slow but finished better…there were some parts very compelling and others tedious…

LoraKesh ,

A wonderful read

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was so well written that the characters came to life in my imagination from the moment they appeared on the pages. Such a thoughtful story, and so many life lessons that we can all benefit from – – from forgiveness, to shifting your perspective, to second chances. Bravo!

Customers Also Bought

2022
2021
2022
2022
2021
2022