Heart of Smoke

A YA Dystopian Paranormal Romance Novel

    • 4.1 • 47 Ratings
    • $2.99
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

The Princess Trials meets The Hunger Games in this new dystopian romance series by Young Adult author Megan O'Russell. 

One will betray her. One will save her. One will destroy her world.

The Princess Trials meets The Hunger Games in this new paranormal dystopia.

Do the work, steal the goods, keep her sister alive―a simple plan Lanni has been clinging to. With the city burning around her and vampires hiding in the shadows, making it until morning is the best she can hope for.

But order in the city is crumbling, and the thin safety that’s kept Lanni alive won’t be enough to protect her family. The people who live in the glittering glass domes―lording over the city, safe from the dangers of the outside world―have grown tired of the factory filth marring their perfect apocalypse.

When the new reign of chaos threatens her sister, Lanni faces a horrible choice―accept the fate she was born to, or join the enemy she’s sworn to destroy.

Praise for Heart of Smoke

“A worthy successor to The Hunger Games!” – Amazon Reviewer

“The pacing reminded me of early Brandon Sanderson novels. Highly recommend!” – Amazon Reviewer

“Powerful, raw, and eye-opening.” – Amazon Reviewer

***

Heart of Smoke is a young adult, paranormal romance series that weaves vampires and werewolves into a dystopian society, creating a post-apocalyptic, end of the world adventure. Whether you’re in the mood for love triangles, a friends to lovers twist, or just crave young adult fiction books that feature girls in STEM, Heart of Smoke is an apocalyptic sci-fi YA fans will love. With runaways, orphans, and science fiction feats of genetic engineering that will change your view of the apocalypse, this is a series you’ll be dying to binge!

This complete series of vampire novels is also available in paperback.

***

Heart of Smoke is perfect for fans of Suzanne Collins, Veronica Roth, Victoria Aveyard, Stephenie Meyer, Heidi Catherine, K. A. Riley, Kyla Stone, Kortney Keisel, and Marissa Meyer.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2021
January 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
270
Pages
PUBLISHER
Ink Worlds Press
SELLER
Megan O'Russell
SIZE
1
MB

Customer Reviews

ByFelicia ,

Great apocalyptic dystopian read!

So I took a chance on this book at the recommendation of my bookie friend and I am glad I did.

Lannie and her kid sister Mari are trying to survive in a very possible apocalyptic future. With the exception of vampires of course. But even then, it’s not your usual vampire creation origin so you’re left to wonder. With the progression of science and technology, who even knows anymore. I had a bit of a Divergent/Hunger Games feel while reading it. What with the Domes separating the elite from the dregs in the outside cities. The dregs all having a specific purpose in providing for the elite. A rebellion brewing in the background. I’m curious to find out Lannie and Mari’s true purpose. Who their allies are and who their enemies will be. When will we find out the mystery narrator that waits in the embers?

This book is full of action and suspense. The world building is dark and gritty details but not overwhelming. I really enjoyed this starter and I’m looking forward to continuing with the series.

*til death do us part* ,

Interesting… Also Irritating

Would have been a better book if Lanni actually had a personality. Her entire character was summed up by her obsession with her little sister. I understand she wanted to protect her younger sibling, but her concern made her sister seem like little more than a talking infant than the capable middle schooler she was. It got annoying really fast.

More Books by Megan O'Russell

2019
2020
2019
2020
2019
2019

Customers Also Bought

2018
2020
2020
2019
1018
2021

Other Books in This Series

2021
2021
2022