• $2.99

Publisher Description

Hearts Don’t Lie – Book Six, MacLarens of Fire Mountain Contemporary Romance Series

Mitch MacLaren has reasons for avoiding relationships, and in his opinion, they’re pretty darn good. As the new president of RTC Bucking Bulls, difficult challenges occur daily. He certainly doesn’t need another one in the form of a fiery, blue-eyed, redhead.

Dana Ballard’s new job forces her to work with the one MacLaren who can’t seem to get over himself and lighten up. Their verbal sparring is second nature and entertaining until the night of Mitch’s departure when he surprises her with a dare she doesn’t refuse.

With his assignment in Fire Mountain over, Mitch is free to return to Montana and run the business his father helped start. The glitch in his enthusiasm has to do with one irreversible mistake—the dare Dana didn’t ignore. Now, for reasons that confound him, he just can’t let it go.

Working together is a circumstance neither wants, but both must accept. As their attraction grows, so do the accidents and strange illnesses of the animals RTC depends on to stay in business. Mitch’s total focus should be on finding the reasons and people behind the incidents. Instead, he finds himself torn between his unwanted desire for Dana and the business which is his life.

In his mind, a simple proposition can solve one problem. Will Dana make the smart move and walk away? Or take the gamble and expose her heart?

Hearts Don’t Lie, book six in the MacLarens of Fire Mountain Contemporary series, is a full-length novel with an HEA.

From the Author

Join Shirleen Davies’ newsletter to receive notice of:

· New Releases and other fun stuff

To sign up, copy and paste this site address into your browser's address bar: http://bit.ly/1KqhKwm

July 7
Avalanche Ranch Press LLC
Draft2Digital, LLC

Customer Reviews

Edl85 ,

Romance Set in the American West

“Hearts Don’t Lie” is contemporary Western romance in the MacLaren series; as with the other Shirleen Davies books I’ve read, the combination of chemistry between the lead characters and the details of life in the West combine to create a sparkling romance.

His other brothers see Mitch as surly, and he doesn’t do a lot to dispel that belief about his character, though both they and the reader can see he has a good heart and a strong work ethic beneath his trouble with emotions; he’s passionate about his company providing bucking bull stock for rodeos. Dana is hired to do marketing for the company, and their personalities clash right away—she’s sunny and bubbly compared to his snarky reserve. But opposites often attract, and in this case there’s no denying their chemistry…but will that be enough for them to overcome everything in their way?

What I liked about “Hearts Don’t Lie” was that you can tell Dana and Mitch will be good together if they can overcome their problems, but it’s not a foregone conclusion—Dana is dating someone else, and Mitch can kiss but not commit. Mitch is also more of a diamond in the rough than other romantic leads—he’s far from perfect and you can totally understand Dana’s frustration. For her part, though, Dana is a fun and likeable character, from her good nature to her decision to buy her own motorcycle and openness to adventure. In addition to the romantic suspense, though, is the danger posed to the RTC Bucking Bulls when stock begins to sicken and other strange events threaten the herd; the MacLarens are a successful family, and with that comes threats. The two different plots, along with appearances from the other leads in previous MacLaren books, create an entertaining, engaging romance.

I’d recommend “Hearts Don’t Lie” to readers who enjoy Western romances, especially those set in contemporary times.

Socalbookgal ,

Another hit in this already impressive series!

Shirleen Davies brings us back to Fire Mountain in the 6th book in the series, “Hearts Don’t Lie.” This one focuses on Mitch MacLaren and Dana Ballard, a mismatched pair that seem to dislike each other so much it raises eyebrows all over town and within the close knit family.
When a spur of the moment tease results in a kiss so passionate that it shakes them both to their souls, Mitch and Dana start thinking things neither is willing to confess, nor act on. Mitch has to return to Crooked Tree while Dana stays in Fire Mountain, yet the tension is building and action must be taken.
Not only is the budding romance between these two both sweet and captivating, the subplot involving the MacLaren Empire is complex. The family dynamic has changed with the surprise addition of an unknown son, cattle are getting sick, the patriarch is seeking a new path and Mitch is trying to hold it all together.
Characters we have grown to know and love throughout the series appear along with new faces I hope to see again. Davies has a way of weaving a tale that creates an engrossing, many leveled novel that keeps the pages turning, and this book is no exception.

dreamzincolor ,


And once again Shirleen gives us a masterpiece. I have loved all of her books and this series is awesome. I love romance with western flavor, nothing sexier than cowboys. The details are spectacular and send me on a wonderful journey and an escape we all need sometimes. Mitch and Dana make an adorable couple, the passion is there and he fights it, but she makes it rough for him. I love the sense of family loyalty and strong friendships, rather refreshing and warming. And the plot has already been laid for the next book. There are some surprises, some shocks, some mystery and I hated to see it end. Shirleen Davies is one of my favorite authors and she just keeps getting better. I love her mind. I strongly this book, and the whole series to all romance lovers.

More Books by Shirleen Davies

Other Books in This Series