• $3.99

Publisher Description

‘You and me – we’re sisters, not enemies. We’ve got a real enemy at our door and we need to focus on that – together, united. I don’t want to be fighting you as well.


In the small French town of Colmar, swastikas hang from lampposts, tanks are lined up outside the town hall, and twenty-one-year-old Marie-Claire is in love. She will do anything for her childhood friend Jacques, including spying on her German boss, Dietrich Kurtz. Anything to make Jacques see her in a new light, as something more than just a silly little girl.


But when Jacques rejects her, everything changes. Mortified and stung, Marie-Claire feels the need for revenge. She turns her back on those she loves and is catapulted into a new life.


Her little sister Victoire is aghast at her sister’s traitorous behaviour, not least because Marie-Claire is endangering Victoire’s own life-threatening mission, hiding Jewish refugees in their mother’s wine cellar. And when Marie-Claire marries Kurtz, Victoire knows her relationship with her sister has been poisoned for ever.


But when Victoire learns someone she loves is in terrible danger, her only choice is to trust the sister who betrayed her. Kurtz, Marie-Claire’s cruel and heartless husband, has key information and Victoire must persuade Marie-Claire to obtain it, even if it means risking Marie-Claire’s life. As secrets come to light and close bonds are broken, will the sisters be able to heal old wounds?


An unforgettable and unputdownable story of two sisters ripped apart by World War 2. Fans of The Nightingale and The Ragged Edge of Night will fall in love with Her Darkest Hour.


Praise for Her Darkest Hour:


‘I adore, admire and look up to this author. She is one of my absolute favourite writers - I read anything and everything she writes and needless to say she never disappoints… this is definitely her best book yet. Beautiful and powerful, heartbreaking and empowering…. Everyone needs to read this book now more than ever. If you are going to read one book during these strange extraordinary times we are all living through make it this one.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I loved this novel, with its wonderful cast of characters and gorgeous prose. The storyline was engaging and flowed seamlessly. Highly recommended!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


A great historical novel with interesting characters’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘It's a beautifully descriptive read that made me feel as if I was standing on the sideline watching the story play out until the end’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I love historical fiction, and I really enjoyed this. It's my first novel by Sharon Maas, and it definitely won't be my last. The story is beautifully written.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I loved this book… a powerful read.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I really liked this book! There is a lot of depth to it … There were several parts, I couldn't breathe thinking the character was going to get caught.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Praise for Sharon Maas:


‘If only I could give this book 100 stars rather than 5!… This book is epic, a mesmerizing book of strength through unimaginable losses… Heart-breaking and beautifully written, this is a gripping tale of bravery… One of the best and most memorable historical books I’ve ever read!Deanne’s Book Thoughts, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2020
May 22
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
491
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
3.7
MB

More Books by Sharon Maas