• $0.99

Publisher Description

"Monica Murphy is a one-click author for me. Always." - Rachel Van Dyken, #1 New York Times bestselling author 

“Monica Murphy brings it again with this sexy new series! Addictive. Compulsively readable. Buy it, read it, love it!” - Katy Evans, New York Times bestselling author

“From its first page, Her Defiant Heart grabs you and doesn’t let you go. Everything comes to a head as Monica Murphy leaves you gasping for the next installment in this compelling tale.” - Mary Dude, USA Today Happy Ever After Blog

“Monica Murphy has created a gritty and emotionally thrilling story with Her Defiant Heart. Every page led to another stolen temptation, another shattered realization, another piece of a wickedly woven puzzle I couldn’t get enough of!” - Emily McGee, Same Book, Different Review

No one’s childhood is perfect.

Not everyone’s mother tosses them aside as a baby. It changes you, knowing you weren’t good enough, that your very existence repelled the person who gave you life. My father never got over it, leaving me to fend for myself, always reminding me of my shortcomings.

I’m not over it either.

I want revenge.

She owes me. And I'm going to take what’s mine.

Leaving my past behind, and starting fresh. New name, new life, new college, new boy. The gorgeous, ultra-rich Rhett Montgomery. He's immediately interested in me, exactly like I planned.

He's my connection to my mother, and I'm using him to destroy her. But I didn't plan on Rhett being so charming. Sweet. Sexy.

And I definitely didn't plan on falling for him either…

March 29
EM Publishing
EM Publishing

Customer Reviews

Jen Mirabelli ,

I need more!

I love when a book takes you on an emotional roller coaster ride. Monica murphy’s latest release captures what it’s like to feel cast aside and consumed by revenge.

Who better to help Jennifer Fanneli with her plan than someone close to her target—the super-hot-makes-your-panties-drop Rhett Montgomery. Her one tie to the mother that abandoned her.

What follows is a story that will have you flipping pages dying to find out how Jennifer’s plan will play out.

Her Defiant Heart is the first book of Monica’s upcoming trilogy, and WOW, I couldn’t put it down! This series starts with a bang and I’m anxiously awaiting His Wasted Heart and Damaged Hearts. Can’t come soon enough!!

Jennifer ~ Book B!tches Blog ,

5 Revengeful Stars!!!

How far would you go to seek revenge on someone??

The answer to that question is in Monica Murphy’s Her Defiant Heart. She takes you on a hate filled emotional ride. She will show you what it is like to be cast aside by someone who is supposed to love you unconditionally.

This was such an intriguing storyline and I was captivated right from the beginning. I can’t wait to read more. I will warn you this book is the first book in a trilogy and does end on a cliffhanger. It isn’t a nail biter type cliffhanger bu she definitely leaves you wanting more.

I would 100% recommend this book to all New Adult lovers out there. Also if you like a story that will keep you guessing and is unique from other books out there, this is one you will want to read!!! If you are a fan of Monica Murphy’s books then you don’t want to miss this book!!!!

Aurora H (Whoo Gives A Hoot) ,

A Great Beginning

When Monica Murphy first announced her upcoming Damaged Hearts series I was so freaking excited because I have read and loved many of her past releases, but nothing could have prepared me for this story.

Her Defiant Heart is the kind of story that captures you whole body and soul right from the very beginning and holds on for dear life. This is not a story filled with love, hope and happiness, but rather a story fueled by revenge and hate. Revenge plays a crucial part in this series and I am anticipating that it will certainly grow from one book to the next.

Jensen is driven by revenge and it is directed towards her mother, the mother that abandoned her at a young age only to go off and raise another family with children who are not her own. That realization is a bitter pill to swallow and she is engulfed in rage. She devises a plan to get to her mother through Rhett Montgomery, but what she doesn't anticipate is developing feelings for him. Suddenly, she must make a decision...to continue her plan...or to let it go and move on.

I devoured this story in only a few short hours and now I cannot wait to dive into His Wasted Hearts, book 2 in the Damaged Hearts series when it releases because I need to know what is next for Jensen and Rhett, especially after that intense ending!

More Books by Monica Murphy

Other Books in This Series