• $10.99

Publisher Description

From National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti comes an intensely gripping story about love, loss, marriage, and secrets—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult, Kristin Hannah, and Anna Quindlen.
 
“One of the best books I’ve read all year.”—Barbara O’Neal, author of The Garden of Happy Endings

“What do you think happened to your husband, Mrs. Keller?”
 
The Sunday morning starts like any other, aside from the slight hangover. Dani Keller wakes up on her Seattle houseboat, a headache building behind her eyes from the wine she drank at a party the night before. But on this particular Sunday morning, she’s surprised to see that her husband, Ian, is not home. As the hours pass, Dani fills her day with small things. But still, Ian does not return. Irritation shifts to worry, worry slides almost imperceptibly into panic. And then, like a relentless blackness, the terrible realization hits Dani: He’s gone.
 
As the police work methodically through all the logical explanations—he’s hurt, he’s run off, he’s been killed—Dani searches frantically for a clue as to whether Ian is in fact dead or alive. And, slowly, she unpacks their relationship, holding each moment up to the light: from its intense, adulterous beginning, to the grandeur of their new love, to the difficulties of forever. She examines all the sins she can—and cannot—remember. As the days pass, Dani will plumb the depths of her conscience, turning over and revealing the darkest of her secrets in order to discover the hard truth—about herself, her husband, and their lives together.
 
“A thought-provoking and moving exploration.”—New York Times bestselling author Erica Bauermeister

Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2013
May 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
7.3
MB

Customer Reviews

KTxoxo ,

Another great read

Through each of the other books that I have read by Deb Caletti, I have been in love. I have not been able to put down any of her books, always telling myself "oh just one more chapter", which leads on and on... This book was very emotional and very great.

JenCTx ,

Merciless Flagellation

Pathetic handwringing narrator..stuck in own mind..zero action..horrible!!!

SLP729 ,

I wish I could get my money back!

I love to read! I very rarely dislike a book! This book was picked by our book month club and it was almost a total flop across the board. The writing was slow and boring and the ending felt sloppy and half hearted. I have no idea what the point of that story was, and I never connected to the main character. If you feel you just read this, try to get it from the library and save your money.

More Books by Deb Caletti