• $3.99

Publisher Description

When Gwen’s parents die tragically in an accident, she finds herself heartbroken and jobless, living with her tyrannical Aunt Mary in the little village of Hopley. She’s hoping for a new start, but even the sweet smells of the countryside can’t make Gwen forget how alone she is in the world. 


Until one day she finds herself wandering up a little lane at the edge of town, and through the doors of a tiny stone church, lost in time and forgotten by nearly everyone. As she breathes in the dusty stillness and idly flicks through the messages in the old church visitors’ book, Gwen feels her heart lift. There are so many unfinished stories inside just waiting to be untangled – it’s the sense purpose she’s been searching for since she lost her parents…


Instantly drawn into the mystery, Gwen is unexpectedly joined by Jarvis – a little lost like her but too cool to admit it. Gwen isn’t sure what to make of him, or that she wants to share her discovery with anyone else. But Jarvis isn’t here to help Gwen – he has a secret of his own. And when they find a tragically beautiful story hidden deep in the old book’s pages, it threatens to bring everything they’ve been hiding from each other to the surface... 


Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Cecilia Ahern and Fiona Valpy, this is a gorgeous, feel-good read from a Richard and Judy bestselling author. 


What readers are saying about Tracy Rees:

‘So brilliant… it has wonderful characters, a strong heroine, mystery, drama… full of surprises and twists and turns… pure escapism.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘Absolutely marvellous… I was totally captivated by the story and devoured it greedily.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘What a joy to read. Beautifulsuch a lovely, comforting read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘A beautifully written tale of friendship, heartbreak and surviving whatever life may throw at you.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Adventure, mystery, love, and above all friendship… a perfect ending.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Enchanting!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘Beautiful… Read it, you will not regret it!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


My new favourite book!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘Over and over, I had to remind myself: it’s not real! It’s fiction! It’s a novel! That’s how captivating and real this book is. I was pulled in hook, line, and sinker right from the start.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
May 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
335
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
2.4
MB

Customer Reviews

Moosech ,

Unputdownable Phenomenal Read

This new to me author, Tracy Rees had me hooked from literally the first page of this book to the last. I absolutely loved this unputdownable read. This is definitely a read in one sitting book.

Oh my goodness I almost don’t know where to begin with this amazing book. Gwen Stanley experiences a tragedy in her life that leaves her heartbroken, destitute and lost. She retreats to the tiny village of Hopley, to find her way in life. As Gwen wanders through the English countryside, at the edge of the village, she finds a tiny old dilapidated church. Gwen pushes her way through the front doors. As she roams through the church building, she finds a book and written inside are secrets of the town. And then in walks local artist Jarvis, who is just as curious about the book as Gwen is. Her relationship with Jarvis develops as the two of them decide to answer the Vicar’s request to fix the church’s roof. Did Gwen find not only happiness but also a new purpose for her life?

I absolutely loved the chemistry between Jarvis and Gwen and found myself cheering them on. The English Village of Hopley is so beautifully described, it immediately became a place I would love to visit. The characters are so well developed and relatable, that I easily visualized the story. The flow of the the story has so smooth that I absolutely could not put it down until I turned the last page. I am so happy to hear that this is a new series, I can’t wait for the next book. Thank you Tracy Rees for such a wonderful and heartfelt story, it was a fantastic escape.

More Books by Tracy Rees