Book 2 - The Montgomerys and Armstrongs

Highlander Most Wanted

The Montgomerys and Armstrongs

    • 4.3 • 522 Ratings
    • $7.99
    • $7.99

Publisher Description

Maya Banks, the New York Times bestselling author of erotic romance, romantic suspense, and contemporary romance, has captivated readers with her steamy Scottish historical novels, perfect for fans of Julie Garwood. In Highlander Most Wanted, a reclusive woman content to live in the shadows shows a Highland warrior the true meaning of love.

Genevieve McInnis is locked behind the fortified walls of McHugh Keep, captive of a cruel laird who takes great pleasure in ruining her for any other man. Yet when Bowen Montgomery storms the gates on a mission of clan warfare, Genevieve finds that her spirit is bent but not broken. Still, her path toward freedom remains uncertain. Unable to bear the shame of returning to a family that believes her dead or to abandon others at the keep to an imposing new laird, Genevieve opts for the peaceful life of an abbess. But Bowen’s rugged sensuality stirs something deep inside her that longs to be awakened by his patient, gentle caress—something warm, wicked, and tempting.

Bowen seizes his enemy’s keep, unprepared for the brooding and reclusive woman who captures his heart. He’s enchanted by her fierce determination, her unusual beauty, and her quiet, unfailing strength. But wooing her will take more than a seasoned seducer’s skill. For loving Genevieve, he discovers, means giving her back the freedom that was stolen from her—even if it means losing her forever.

From the Paperback edition.

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2013
March 19
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
7.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Dugbuynjmede ,

Good but your typical Highlander romance...

I did enjoy this but it’s a very typical sexy-Scottish laird-rescues- the-beautiful-damsel-in-de stress romance. It has a happy ending and all is well and they live happily ever after.... It seems sometimes you read one of these types of storylines you’ve read them all. This was a good book and I did like it but I have read better. This isn’t a type of book that you would want to read again and I’m not sure if I would read another book from this author. I’m sure they are similar. It was nicely written but I found myself skim reading a lot of the book to no consequence.It was corny at times especially the end but it was a sweet ending. If you enjoy sexy Highlander romances with a sweet but predictable ending(and story) you’ll enjoy this book.

sophie_213 ,

Mixed Feelings

I have mixed feelings about this book. To knock out the obvious dislike, it’s literally a copy paste of the previous book with the same plot points and even the same arguments/justifications. I’d skim over a lot of it because I knew where it was going because I had just read the previous book the night before. I rolled my eyes at the same dialogue in the same plot - man falls madly in love with a misunderstood woman, man defends her against anything and everything. Very boring the second time in a row.

Ok, now for the mixed part. Trigger warning for SA.

I, like many woman, have undergone something similar to the main character. So, on one hand, it’s really nice to see the emotions and shame surrounding the experience played out. It was nice to see a man defend and love, not revile a woman for what she went through. I also thought the author did a good job slowly explaining the trauma little by little through the book. She never went into deep detail, there was never a flashback. She gave the gist of what happened (except the was one instance where she was uncomfortably specific) in a way that got the point across but wasn’t too triggering, at least for me.

But it was too much about the SA- most of the book was the heroine wrestling with what had happened and moping about it. (Moping in the actual sense not the negative ‘stop moping about it.’) The book wasn’t a romance. It was a woman still in turmoil over the dark things she experienced and only at the 2/3rd mark did she start to have any experience of joy or happiness at all. She was still deep in the midst of her trauma and had not started recovering. The man who abused her died like 4days before the start of the story and she’s still surrounded by men who did horrible things to her. She’s still in the place where it all happened with people who knew what he was doing to her and not only did nothing about it but actively blame her for it and calling her a wh*re.

The hero had pretty much insta-love. When he found out what happened to her, his emotions toward her instantly changed and he was willing to break all the rules for her. The hero wasn’t in love with her- he pitied her and was sad that she went through the bad things. He knew nothing about her except what she had gone through. You can’t tell me that’s love.

So, the book turned into a woman wrestling with the dark things she experienced and a hero who pitied her. It wasn’t cute and it wasn’t believable. I do think it’s possible to have a romance novel where the main character has been SA’d (I’ve read them) but the plot of the book can’t be all about that. Why would you believe she wants a man to touch her when a page before she was lamenting all of the terrible things that happened to her? The author even called it out at one point when the heroine was ashamed that she enjoying cuddling with the hero after she was nearly raped the night before (the scene doesn’t work in the book and it felt like lampshading).

JNLCRN ,

Wonderful story

I felt like I was a part of the clan.. Wonderfully written.

More Books Like This

2019
2014
2011
2017
2015
2015

More Books by Maya Banks

2013
2013
2013
2008
2014
2014

Customers Also Bought

2016
2017
2018
2009
2010
2015

Other Books in This Series