How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House

A Novel

    • 3.8 • 105 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, a brilliant Caribbean writer delivers a powerful story about four people each desperate to escape their legacy of violence in a so-called "paradise."
In Baxter’s Beach, Barbados, Lala’s grandmother Wilma tells the story of the one-armed sister. It’s a cautionary tale, about what happens to girls who disobey their mothers and go into the Baxter’s Tunnels. When she’s grown, Lala lives on the beach with her husband, Adan, a petty criminal with endless charisma whose thwarted burglary of one of the beach mansions sets off a chain of events with terrible consequences. A gunshot no one was meant to witness. A new mother whose baby is found lifeless on the beach. A woman torn between two worlds and incapacitated by grief. And two men driven into the Tunnels by desperation and greed who attempt a crime that will risk their freedom – and their lives.

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House is an intimate and visceral portrayal of interconnected lives, across race and class, in a rapidly changing resort town, told by an astonishing new author of literary fiction.

One of 2021's Most Anticipated New Fiction
The Millions * Lit Hub * O Magazine * Elle.com * Entertainment Weekly * Minneapolis Star-Tribune * Bustle

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
February 2
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
240
Pages
PUBLISHER
Little, Brown and Company
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
1.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Alive10 ,

Good Read!

This book drew me in from the very beginning. The characters stories are very sad so don’t read if you’re expecting something light and funny. It’s not dark, but it’s a bit on the heavy side.

Patsy82 ,

Disappointing

This book had a great story plot, but the way the author told the story made it hard to follow, the author would go into long descriptions of what the character should have done or could have done, and this would last for a paragraph or two, by the time you got to the end of it, I couldn’t remember if this was something the character had really done or if it was what they were only thinking. The next thing was the author told the story from the characters speaking in there own language, so some of that was hard to understand. I also felt the ending was left to opened, no closure. Overall I was disappointed in this book because it was a great story plot, but it wasn’t told that well.

DEBBIELSROSS ,

Excellent book.

I definitely recommend this book. It kept me interested to the final scene.

More Books by Cherie Jones

2021
2000

Customers Also Bought

2021
2021
2021
2020
2019
2021