I Can Take it from Here I Can Take it from Here
Truth to Power

I Can Take it from Here

A Memoir of Trauma, Prison, and Self-Empowerment

    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

An emotional, page-turning account of unhealed trauma and personal transformation that will break your heart and change your mind, in the tradition of Somebody's Daughter, A Piece of Cake, and Jesmyn Ward's Men We Reaped

Riveting, honest, and raw, I Can Take It From Here recounts Lisa Forbes's harrowing journey into darkness — including a fourteen-year-long stint in a maximum-security prison — and her fierce resolve to understand the effects of the trauma she endured, to take personal responsibility for her actions, and to ensure that her history does not dictate her destiny.

The youngest of six children, Lisa grew up in a Chicago housing project where she endured sexual, religious, and emotional abuse as a little girl. A voracious reader, she graduated high school at 15 and went to work as a secretary in a downtown insurance office, became pregnant at 16 and, at 19, unexpectedly and uncharacteristically committed a violent act, stabbing and killing the father of her daughter.

Providing powerful insights into what we as a society need to learn and confront in the ongoing epidemic of mass re-incarceration, Lisa is a stunning example of an individual who through determination, knowledge, and hard work has been able to reclaim her own life.

The book ends with Lisa's rousing call to action to support the people—as well as the shorthanded employers—who need the help, and need each other, more than ever.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2022
June 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
256
Pages
PUBLISHER
Steerforth Press
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
2.5
MB

More Books Like This

Lilies of the Field Lilies of the Field
2016
The Idiot Boy The Idiot Boy
2015
It Happened in Manhattan It Happened in Manhattan
2017
I Had a Right to Remain Silent I Had a Right to Remain Silent
2022
Gone But Not Forgotten Gone But Not Forgotten
2021
Curveballs Curveballs
2019

Other Books in This Series

The Book of Matt The Book of Matt
2013
Friendly Fire Friendly Fire
2020
War of Numbers War of Numbers
1998
Hard Driving Hard Driving
2008
Invisible Boy Invisible Boy
2022
When the Bulbul Stopped Singing When the Bulbul Stopped Singing
2003