I Have Some Questions for You I Have Some Questions for You

I Have Some Questions for You

A Novel

    • 3.8 • 672 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 

Named a Best Book of 2023 by The Washington Post, People, USA Today, NPR, Esquire, Good Housekeeping, Real Simple, The Boston Globe, CrimeReads and more

“A twisty, immersive whodunit perfect for fans of Donna Tartt’s The Secret History.” —People 

"Spellbinding." —The New York Times Book Review

"[An] irresistible literary page-turner." The Boston Globe

The riveting new novel — "part true-crime page-turner, part campus coming-of-age" (San Francisco Chronicle) from the author of the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award finalist The Great Believers


A successful film professor and podcaster, Bodie Kane is content to forget her past—the family tragedy that marred her adolescence, her four largely miserable years at a New Hampshire boarding school, and the murder of her former roommate, Thalia Keith, in the spring of their senior year. Though the circumstances surrounding Thalia’s death and the conviction of the school’s athletic trainer, Omar Evans, are hotly debated online, Bodie prefers—needs—to let sleeping dogs lie.

But when the Granby School invites her back to teach a course, Bodie is inexorably drawn to the case and its increasingly apparent flaws. In their rush to convict Omar, did the school and the police overlook other suspects? Is the real killer still out there? As she falls down the very rabbit hole she was so determined to avoid, Bodie begins to wonder if she wasn’t as much of an outsider at Granby as she’d thought—if, perhaps, back in 1995, she knew something that might have held the key to solving the case.

In I Have Some Questions for You, award-winning author Rebecca Makkai has crafted her most irresistible novel yet: a stirring investigation into collective memory and a deeply felt examination of one woman’s reckoning with her past, with a transfixing mystery at its heart. Timely, hypnotic, and populated with a cast of unforgettable characters, I Have Some Questions for You is at once a compulsive page-turner and a literary triumph.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
February 21
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
448
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
2.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Jerrman ,

Absorbing and Troubling

Detailing some ills with society, from failures of the legal system, systemic support for male dominance and violence against women and implicit racial bias, all of which still exist today. The underlying unfairness of it all may hit hardest among women readers, although it should resonate with us all.

allison nolagirl ,

Enjoyed

Twists and turns!

Woman from Malvia ,

Boring and tortuously written….

I don’t know how i made it to read 53% of it.

It’s a never ending, often engulfing, mostly boring review of issues, points, and conversations that fail to be delivered in a compelling writing fashion.

More Books Like This

All the Houses All the Houses
2015
My Sunshine Away My Sunshine Away
2015
Safe from the Neighbors Safe from the Neighbors
2010
Special Topics in Calamity Physics Special Topics in Calamity Physics
2006
The Best American Short Stories 2023 The Best American Short Stories 2023
2023
Sugar Skull Sugar Skull
2003

More Books by Rebecca Makkai

The Great Believers The Great Believers
2018
The Hundred-Year House The Hundred-Year House
2014
The Borrower The Borrower
2011
Music for Wartime Music for Wartime
2015
Wierzyliśmy jak nikt Wierzyliśmy jak nikt
2020
Les Optimistes Les Optimistes
2020

Customers Also Bought

Pineapple Street Pineapple Street
2023
The Latecomer The Latecomer
2022
The Hunter The Hunter
2024
The Plot The Plot
2021
The Guest The Guest
2023
The Fury The Fury
2024