• $5.99

Publisher Description

When Lucy, Elena, and Michael receive their summer reading list, they are excited to see To Kill A Mockingbird included. But not everyone in their class shares the same enthusiasm. So they hatch a plot to get the entire town talking about the well-known Harper Lee classic. They plan controversial ways to get people to read the book, including re-shelving copies of the book in bookstores so that people think they are missing and starting a website committed to "destroying the mockingbird." Their efforts are successful when all of the hullabaloo starts to direct more people to the book. But soon, their exploits start to spin out of control and they unwittingly start a mini revolution in the name of books.

I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora is a middle grade novel perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird andGo Set a Watchman. This title has Common Core connections.

“The banter among the three whip-smart friends would make John Green proud. . . . You won't have to hide any copies of this to create demand.” —The Bulletin

“Fans of Janet Tashjian's The Gospel According to Larry series will enjoy this look at how the power of creativity and the internet can cause a cultural movement. . . . Acampora's novel is for lovers of literature, especially how the classics work in the current moment.” —VOYA

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2014
May 20
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
176
Pages
PUBLISHER
Roaring Brook Press
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
846
KB
AUDIENCE
Grades 5-9

Customer Reviews

Mrs. Sermons ,

I Kill the Mockingbird

As an 8th grade teacher, the blurb that described this book caught my attention. I hope I have inspired my students to love reading TKAM as much as Fat Bob. I really enjoyed the story and the literary references peppered in the narrative. Ironically, I just assigned Mockingbird as our summer reading assignment for 2016. I will be sharing excerpts from I Kill the Mockingbird in my summer reading workshops and hope my students can share their love of Scout, Atticus, and Harper Lee on social media like Lucy, Michael, and Elena. I hope we can all ask ourselves WWFBD?

あlol ,

Trash

This book plot was confusing and why did it fail idk but you can find that in the book

Alexo223344 ,

Love

Pretty good book. I had to read this for school and I thoroughly enjoyed it more than any other book I've read for school. I enjoyed Michael and Lucy's budding relationship.

More Books by Paul Acampora