• $3.99

Publisher Description

‘A distinctive and gripping thriller that rushes towards a truly unpredictable finale’ The Sun


Alex South is a high-functioning alcoholic who is teetering on the brink of oblivion, her career as a television journalist hanging by a thread following a drunken on-air rant. When a series of murders occur within a couple of miles of her East London home she is given another chance to prove her skill and report the unfolding events. She thinks she can control the drinking, but soon she finds gaping holes in her memory, and wakes to find she’s done things she can’t recall. As the story she’s covering starts to creep into her own life, is Alex a danger only to herself – or to others?

This gripping psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Fiona Barton, BA Paris and Clare Mackintosh.

Praise for I Never Lie:

'Like Girl on a Train but better' Reader review

This book was amazing! I really struggled to put it down for long enough to breathe’ 5* Reader review

'This book was a great read. I loved the layout of the plot and the way the story unravelled itself. The characters were very relatable.' Elisabeth Carpenter, author of 11 Missed Calls

‘A psychological thriller bursting with local colour and fizz’ Hackney Citizen

'A real page-turner with a flawed modern woman at the heart of it. Jody Sabral knows the business of news gathering and of constructing a great crime novel.' P.D. Viner, author of The Last Winter of Dani Lancing

'Suspenseful and chilling, it really grabbed me from the first page!' Lisa Hall, author of Tell Me No Lies

'A compulsive, easy read that I sped through' Christina McDonald, author of The Night Olivia Fell

'Really enjoyed reading this. I could sense the frustration of the narrator as she battled with the lure of alcohol and I found the way in which this thwarted her abilities not only to do her job, but to make sense of events, very effective... A great read and I look forward to reading more by Jody Sabral' Karen Hamilton, author of The Perfect Girlfriend

'This is one of the most original plots I have ever read...Jody Sabral and Canelo have a best seller on their hands' Nigel Adams Bookworm

This book is something else pure genius’ 5* Nicki’s Life of Crime

'A twisted tale of addiction and denial. Easy to read, fast paced and as addictive as it's content.’ Reader review

‘This is my first book by Jody Sabral, but it definitely won't be my last’ 4* Reader reviews

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
June 11
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
329
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
620.7
KB

Customer Reviews

Should have known... ,

I Never Lie

Really somewhere in the 3.2 vicinity, this book was like an underbaked cake. There were tantalizingly developed characters on the margins of the plot (Mary, the Wilcoxes, Dutch, Audrey) but they all turned out to be red herrings. Even the lead character - Alex’s alcoholism - was underdeveloped as its origins were never explained and the reader was left to sprint along on her unexplained hamster wheel of desperation and self-righteousness. This stands in stark contrast to every other alcoholic in the book as the causes of their addictions are examined in some depth. Somewhat confusing. Alex herself never really takes shape beyond her disease, her career and her pathological avoidance of unpleasantness. None of these renders her particularly sympathetic or interesting. The mystery aspect of the book keeps you more engaged than the rest of the plot although the cover gives away the major plot twist, which was a decent one in spite of its somewhat contrived nature. I did enjoy the setting of the book and how genuine in general the lives of young professionals living in East London felt.