I Saw Death Coming I Saw Death Coming

I Saw Death Coming

A History of Terror and Survival in the War against Reconstruction

    • 5.0 • 2 Ratings
    • $20.99
    • $20.99

Publisher Description

Longlisted for the National Book Award in Nonfiction



"Powerful and deeply moving."--Los Angeles Times * Shortlisted for the Museum of African American History's Stone Book Award * National Council on Public History Book Award Honorable Mention



From a groundbreaking scholar, a heart-wrenching reexamination of the struggle for survival in the Reconstruction-era South, and what it cost.



The story of Reconstruction is often told from the perspective of the politicians, generals, and journalists whose accounts claim an outsized place in collective memory. But this pivotal era looked very different to African Americans in the South transitioning from bondage to freedom after 1865. They were besieged by a campaign of white supremacist violence that persisted through the 1880s and beyond. For too long, their lived experiences have been sidelined, impoverishing our understanding of the obstacles post-Civil War Black families faced, their inspiring determination to survive, and the physical and emotional scars they bore because of it.



In I Saw Death Coming, Kidada E. Williams offers a breakthrough account of the much-debated Reconstruction period, transporting readers into the daily existence of formerly enslaved people building hope-filled new lives. Drawing on overlooked sources and bold new readings of the archives, Williams offers a revelatory and, in some cases, minute-by-minute record of nighttime raids and Ku Klux Klan strikes. And she deploys cutting-edge scholarship on trauma to consider how the effects of these attacks would linger for decades--indeed, generations--to come.



For readers of Carol Anderson, Tiya Miles, and Clint Smith, I Saw Death Coming is an indelible and essential book that speaks to some of the most pressing questions of our times.

GENRE
History
RELEASED
2023
January 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bloomsbury Publishing
SELLER
Bookwire Gesellschaft zum Vertrieb digitaler Medien mbH
SIZE
5.8
MB

More Books Like This

The Bone and Sinew of the Land The Bone and Sinew of the Land
2018
A People's History of the American Revolution A People's History of the American Revolution
2011
The 1619 Project The 1619 Project
2021
Bitterly Divided Bitterly Divided
2010
The Thin Light of Freedom: The Civil War and Emancipation in the Heart of America The Thin Light of Freedom: The Civil War and Emancipation in the Heart of America
2017
Buried in the Bitter Waters Buried in the Bitter Waters
2008

More Books by Kidada E. Williams

Customers Also Bought

You Don't Know Us Negroes and Other Essays You Don't Know Us Negroes and Other Essays
2022
Black AF History Black AF History
2023
The Dead Are Arising: The Life of Malcolm X The Dead Are Arising: The Life of Malcolm X
2020
South to America South to America
2022
Stony the Road Stony the Road
2019
Invisible Child Invisible Child
2021