• $5.99

Publisher Description

Samuel Langhorne Clemens (November 30, 1835 – April 21, 1910), better known by his pen name Mark Twain was an American author and humorist. As Twain’s books provide insight into the past‚ the events of his personal life further demonstrate his role as an eyewitness to history. During his lifetime‚ Sam Clemens watched a young United States evolve from a nation torn apart by internal conflicts to one of international power. He experienced America’s vast growth and change - from westward expansion to industrialization‚ the end of slavery‚ advancements in technology‚ big government and foreign wars. Sam traveled across the open frontier from Missouri to Nevada by stagecoach. Along the journey Sam encountered Native American tribes for the first time as well as a variety of unique characters‚ mishaps and disappointments. These events would find a way into his short stories and books. It was also on this trip that Clemens met his future brother-in-law‚ Charles Langdon. Langdon reportedly showed Sam a picture of his sister‚ Olivia‚ and Sam fell in love at first sight. Huckleberry Finn was also the first book published by Sam’s own publishing company‚ The Charles L. Webster Company. In an attempt to gain control over publication as well as to make substantial profits‚ Sam created the publishing company in 1884. Sam witnessed the increasing exploitation of weaker governments by European powers‚ which he described in his book‚ Following the Equator (1897).  Mark Twain’s irresistible collection Vol- II, is a collection of few of his works.  It is a well illustrated book that we have complied. It has colorful images in the gallery that the reader will relate to while reading. It gives some food to the imagination of the readers. This book comprise, of, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court, Eve's Diary, The Tragedy of Pudd’nhead Wilson, Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc, Following the Equator and The Mysterious Stranger and Other Stories.

Fiction & Literature
October 19
Vakya Books
Vakya Books

More Books by Mark Twain