• $4.99

Publisher Description

An apocalyptic battle for godhood is raging in the rift between Iowa and the Abyss.

"A tasty and addictive cocktail of the speculative fiction genre... 'Godsknife:Revolt' is grimdark (oh yeah) and happening. The intro and conclusion are surprising, shocking, and every bit as intriguing as the entire plot." ~ Anindita Choudhury

World War III isn't over. America has been in rebuild mode since losing New York to a mysterious flood. The peace breaks as a sorcerer's mutants ravage Iowa on a warpath into the Abyss. A fleet of enlarged praying mantises has invaded Des Moines, Iowa. Swarms of cicadas are turning survivors into winged soldiers. Orchestrating the warzone is a priestess of Order, who's pursuing godhood, and the nation of followers who'll get her there.

Caroline's new friendship parts the veil between reality and myth, as a recruiter of Order needs her to hide him from capture. In their escape, the boss she's loved like a father reveals his elevator into the Abyss.

In this new world, Caroline finds a usurped god and an angry ghost eager to make her their getaway back to power. What if the person her friends will need is heartbeats away from becoming the real threat? When the impossible becomes reality, what price will she pay to survive?

"It's as if the author took our current society, stripped off a few layers, and added in a few Chinese puzzle boxes. It is believable and very well done. The characters are interesting and well developed. I love that there's a good amount of dialogue that flows well and builds nicely into the story. I can't wait for the next book of the series!" ~ Vicarious Bookworm Reviews

EVOLVED PUBLISHING PRESENTS a chilling, horrifying look at a world gone mad, with this first book in the "Godsknife" series. [DRM-Free]

The "Godsknife" series is perfect for fans of Stephen King (The Dark Tower, The Stand), Larry Correa (Monster Hunter), Nick Cole (The Red King, The Wasteland Saga), Ted Dekker (Circle Trilogy) and Tosca Lee (Demon, The Books of Mortals).

Books by Timothy C. Ward:
Godsknife: Revolt (Book 1)Godsknife: Lineage (Short Story Prequel)Scavenger: EvolutionScavenger: A.I.Ultras
More Great Fiction from Evolved Publishing:
Whispers of the Dead and Whispers of the Serpent by C.L. Roberts-HuthThe Zombie West Trilogy by Angela ScottThe Possession by A.K. KuykendallThe Sundered Oath Series by Ciara BallintyneThe Seekers Series by David Litwack

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2016
August 20
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
388
Pages
PUBLISHER
Evolved Publishing LLC
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
2.2
MB

Customer Reviews

christinaraven ,

Crazy wierd urban fantasy

What a different take on the urban fantasy genre. This story is the first in a wild crazy world hidden within the normal world. This is the story of Maker, Chaos, and Order and their fight for supremacy. The real story begins with Anton an Order recruiter who meets Caroline who is checking out a college campus in the mid west. They are both drawn to each other but the hidden world and its oncoming fight interrupts the normal boy attracted to girl story. It is a crazy world where not everyone is who you think they are. Then things get really crazy. The book starts out a little slow as it introduces us to a Order cell but with enough weirdness to keep me reading to see what happens next. Wanted to get to the crazy praying mantis but before that Priestess Shila and her craziness sucked me in. It was a wild read trying to figure out who were the good guys and who the bad guys were. I was given a copy for free and this is my honest review. Crazy but addicting. Cannot wait for the next book to see what happens next.

DanDanTheArtMan ,

Thrilling Urban Fantasy Horror - Awesome Magic, Great Action

This book surprised me. It is many things all crammed into one book. It was definitely horrific and you could call it a horror novel. And I also might call it an urban fantasy because it takes place in modern times but has a lot of cool magic. It is paced like a thriller. The story moves very fast. Even though the action scenes were a bit too gruesome for my taste at times, they were really well done and I really enjoyed them.

This book reads quickly because it is paced so fast. That said I was really intrigued with the magic system. I'm pretty sure I have a good grasp of it now, but I didn't really understand it until almost the end of the book. I still have questions about it but thankfully there's going to be a second book in this series, so hopefully I'll get my answers in the next book. The way characters gain power and use it was so awesome. There are those who use chaos and others who use order. The way the author came up with the way they use magic was really creative and made for some awesome fight scenes.

I loved the fast pace but I wish that some things would've been explained more. The powers that characters have—do all kinds of crazy amazing stuff but most of it wasn't explained until the end of the story. I kind of felt like I was flung through the story. That's to be expected in a thriller but with all the other cool fantasy and horror elements it took me a while to get a feel for the story. I loved it though. Timothy C. Ward definitely lets you figure it out as you read the story instead of using info dumps and hand holding. I would have personally liked a bit more explanation earlier on but you'll probably appreciate how he sprinkles it in while moving the story forward at a brisk pace.

I'm looking forward to the next book and especially getting to learn more about this awesome magic system and how the different worlds work in this book. So if you're looking for a thrilling gruesome book with a really cool imaginative magic system then check out this book.

More Books by Timothy C. Ward