• $3.99

Publisher Description

"Jesus, I don't even know where to begin.  Let's just say the book is fabulous, to start.  Sexy?  You bet.  Swoon worthy?  God yes." –Leteisha Newton, author of the Lost series and the SEALed Fate series.

Tiffany Masters is desperate for a fresh start after the loss of her husband. Landing in Mystic, she soon learns the town has as many secrets as she does. The local book club, The Book B!tches, gives her the courage to be herself without worrying about adult things, like bills, parenting, and supper. However, her new boss may be more than she can handle.

Nick takes pride in his business. Being the only bar owner in town has its challenges, the biggest being his new employee. Tiffany's a fireball—sexy as hell, with a temper to match—and off-limits. She's got kids; he's been there, done that, didn't care to get the t-shirt.

When their heated attraction sparks a spat, the sheriff gives them an ultimatum: settle their s**t or go to jail. He's got a crime to solve—a woman's dead, Wren's still missing, and there's another possible victim.

Mystic may have a serial killer on the loose.

** Welcome to Mystic, Texas, where the past stays alive in more ways than one. While this has a complete story arc, there are elements to the series that the author strongly recommends you read the first book in the series, The Power of Love, before this one.**

March 7
Anne Conley
Draft2Digital, LLC

Customer Reviews

Agent$$$$ ,

Romantic Suspense

Tiffany is a widower who has moved her mom and children to Mystic to "start over" and leave the past behind. Nick, the owner of the bar in town, has aspirations of expanding his bar and making it more like a pub. Nick, Tiffany's boss, likes Tiffany--a lot. When he finds out she has children, he backs off claiming she's off limits. Tiffany likes Nick, but constantly fights with him. Nick provokes Tiffany because he likes to see her "fire", then gives her mixed signals by kissing her. One argument and accusation of stealing even lands them both in jail overnight. In order to escape charges, the Sheriff comes up with a creative way for them to learn to be civil to each other. He sends them on a week-long camping trip....

While this novel is the story of Nick and Tiffany, there's also the added element of suspense. One woman has been found dead and two women are missing. While camping, Tiffany and Nick find Wren after a cryptic message is left for Tiffany. But Cindy is still missing. Is the person threatening Tiffany also the one who had Wren and still has Cindy?

This novel is the second in the series. I somehow missed the first one in the series and believe the novels should probably be read in order. I didn't feel "lost", but would've really enjoyed a little more background. While Tiffany and Nick get their implied HEA, the mystery is not solved. I also believe the mystery/kidnapping of women started in the first novel because Wren was missing when the novel started and Cindy turned up missing in this novel. Furthermore, the "Book Club" decides to follow up on a clue Wren muttered when coming out of her coma. They were discussing their plans when the novel ended. In a way, this is a cliffhanger. That being said, I LOVED this novel. I loved the interaction between Nick and Tiffany! I enjoyed the girls in the "Book Club" because I could see myself and my friends in these women. The novel kept me entertained and wanting more. I did think the town ghosts were a little creepy! I can't wait to read the first novel in the series and look forward to reading the next one! I read a gifted copy of this novel and all opinions stated are my own.

More Books by Anne Conley