Publisher Description

A bond stronger than blood. A connection that could end it all. 
Madigan Knox and Grace Sheppard became sisters the day they entered their foster home. After living through a childhood nightmare, one brave act set them free, but split them apart into different homes.
As adults, they are reunited in the small coastal town they dreamed of living in as children, but the reality of life in Tall Pines is far from what they had imagined.
When a woman is found dead​ in her home​, Madigan reports on the crime while Grace investigates. A dark connection to the victim is discovered, pulling them both closer to the crime and the traumatic past they are desperate to move on from. 
With old wounds ripped open and dark secrets threatening their bond, the sisters must rely on each other more than ever before to survive.

Mysteries & Thrillers
November 16
Emerald O'Brien
Draft2Digital, LLC

Customer Reviews

macdufff ,

The girls across the bay

A gripping read I couldn’t put down. Just about the time I thought I knew who was guilty, I was wrong. Kept me in suspense to the very end.

Saucey Cher ,


A book that had a new plot twist. It didn’t have filthy language. Best of all, it was a complete book with no cliffhanger so you buy the next book.

MrsDuck719 ,

Excellent book

This is a great book. Not only a mystery/thriller that draws you into the story quickly but an emotional tour de force.

The characters are so well written that they will stay with me for a long time. “Sisters” Maddie and Grace so believable and so human. This story brings out some of the horrors of Foster care (Even though most foster parents have great hearts and love beyond belief their my Niece Ashlyn and hubby Seth). Some of what the characters went through are probably foster specific, but resonated with my dysfunctional childhood and mirrored some of my own issues.

If you want a book with “feels”, this is it. Overwhelming love, anger, tears it’s all there.

Do yourself a favor and get this book.

More Books by Emerald O'Brien

Other Books in This Series