• $10.99

Publisher Description

A Strand February 2021 Book of the Month

"With a layered mystery, a haunting setting, and thrilling tension, What Big Teeth has an otherness to it that pulls you in and forces you to keep reading." —Tricia Levenseller, Publisher’s Weekly-bestselling author of The Shadows Between Us

Eleanor Zarrin has been estranged from her wild family for years. When she flees boarding school after a horrifying incident, she goes to the only place she thinks is safe: the home she left behind. But when she gets there, she struggles to fit in with her monstrous relatives, who prowl the woods around the family estate and read fortunes in the guts of birds.

Eleanor finds herself desperately trying to hold the family together—in order to save them all, Eleanor must learn to embrace her family of monsters and tame the darkness inside her.

Rose Szabo's thrilling debut is a dark fantasy novel about a teen girl who returns home to her strange, wild family after years of estrangement, perfect for fans of Wilder Girls. Exquisitely terrifying, beautiful, and strange, this fierce gothic fantasy will sink its teeth into you and never let go.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2021
February 2
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
5.6
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 9-13

Customer Reviews

Insertsassyname ,

This was wild

I finished What Big Teeth, and I’ve gone back and forth in my head several times trying to decide how I felt about it.

3-5 stars

This book isn’t necessarily a bad book, but there is very little explaining and you’re just thrown into the story. This was one of the most wild and twisted books I have ever read, and my stomach is still in knots because I don’t know that i liked it, but I couldn’t stop reading.

Our main character Eleanor is different from the rest of her family of werewolves. I still don’t understand what’s going on with her mother. I still don’t understand why she’s mad at everything and constantly being scolded for being “rude” in the beginning even though she wasn’t. And the side plot with the plants that never comes to anything. I’m still so confused by so much of this book. The reveals at the end were completely obvious by the time we got there, and I wasn’t shocked. I wouldn’t call this a horror novel, but I do read a lot of horror and this was maybe like a goosebumps type horror, it would’ve been scarier when I was younger.

It’s very rare that I have a hard time putting into words my opinion on a book. This wasn’t good, but I couldn’t put it down, and I don’t know what I feel about it.