Bereshit / Genesis: The Torah With Graphic Storytelling, Volume 9, Parashat Vayeshev

The Old Testament's Pentateuch of Moses, for everyone, plain and simple.

    • $7.99
    • $7.99

Publisher Description

Vol.1 Bereshit בְּרֵאשִׁית ― Hebrew for "in a beginning,"

In the parashah, God creates the heavens, the world, Adam and Eve, and Sabbath. A snake convinces Eve, who then invites Adam, to eat the fruit of tree of the knowledge of good and evil, which God had forbidden to them. So God curses them and expels them from the Garden of Eden. One of their sons, Cain, becomes the first murderer, killing his brother Abel out of jealousy. Adam and Eve have other children, whose descendants populate the Earth.

Vol.2 Noach נֹחַ, Hebrew for the name "Noah"

The parashah tells the stories of the Flood and Noah's Ark, of Noah's subsequent drunkenness and cursing of Canaan, and of the Tower of Babel.

Vol.3 Lekh Lekha לֶךְ-לְךָ leḵ-ləḵā ― Hebrew for "go!" or "leave!"

The parashah tells the stories of God's calling of Abram , Abram's passing off his wife Sarai as his sister, Abram's dividing the land with his nephew Lot, the war between the four kings and the five, the covenant between the pieces, Sarai's tensions with her maid Hagar and Hagar's son Ishmael, and the covenant of circumcision.

Vol.4 Vayera וַיֵּרָא ― Hebrew for "and He appeared,"

The parashah tells the stories of Abraham's three visitors, Abraham's bargaining with God over Sodom and Gomorrah, Lot's two visitors, Lot's bargaining with the Sodomites, the flight of Lot, the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah, how Lot's daughters became pregnant by their father, how Abraham once again passed off his wife Sarah as his sister, the birth of Isaac, the expulsion of Hagar, disputes over wells, and the binding of Isaac.

Vol.5 Chayyei Sarah חַיֵּי שָׂרָה ― Hebrew for "life of Sarah,"

The parashah tells the stories of Abraham's negotiations to purchase a burial place for his wife Sarah and his servant's mission to find a wife for Abraham's son Isaac.

Vol.6 Toledot תּוֹלְדֹת ― Hebrew for "generations" or "descendants,"

The parashah tells of the conflict between Jacob and Esau, Isaac's passing off his wife Rebekah as his sister, and Isaac's blessing of his sons.

Vol.7 Vayetzei וַיֵּצֵא ― Hebrew for "and he left,"

The parashah tells of Jacob's travels to, life in, and return from Haran. The parashah recounts Jacob's dream of a ladder to heaven, Jacob's meeting of Rachel at the well, Jacob's time working for Laban and living with Rachel and Leah, the birth of Jacob's children, and the departure of Jacob's family from Laban.

Vol.8 Vayishlach וַיִּשְׁלַח ― Hebrew for "and he sent,"

In the parashah, Jacob reconciles with Esau after wrestling with a "man". The prince Shechem rapes Dinah, whose brothers sack the city of Shechem in revenge. In the family's subsequent flight, Rachel gives birth to Benjamin and dies in childbirth.

Vol.9 Vayeshev וַיֵּשֶׁב ― Hebrew for "and he lived,"

The parashah tells the stories of how Jacob's other sons sold Joseph into captivity in Egypt, how Judah wronged his daughter-in-law Tamar who then tricked him into fulfilling his oath, and how Joseph served Potiphar and was imprisoned when falsely accused of assaulting Potiphar's wife.

Vol.10 Miketz מִקֵּץ ― Hebrew for "at the end"

The parashah tells of Joseph's interpretation of Pharaoh's dreams, Joseph's rise to power in Egypt, and Joseph's testing of his brothers.

Vol.11 Vayigash וַיִּגַּשׁ ― Hebrew for "and he drew near" or "then he drew near,"

In the parashah, Judah pleads on behalf of his brother Benjamin, Joseph reveals himself to his brothers, Jacob comes down to Egypt, and Joseph's administration of Egypt saves lives but transforms all the Egyptians into bondmen.

Vol.12 Vayechi וַיְחִי ― Hebrew for "and he lived,"

The parashah tells of Jacob's request for burial in Canaan, Jacob's blessing of Joseph's sons Ephraim and Manasseh, Jacob's blessing of his sons, Jacob's death and burial, and Joseph's death.

Comics & Graphic Novels
February 10
Study Group of Solving Methods for Symbiosis
Ishikawa Naohiro

More Books by Naohiro Ishikawa


Other Books in This Series