Lucia's War

    • $5.99
    • $5.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Andrea Levy and Sebastian Barry, the latest gripping saga from Susan Lanigan

London, 1950. Opera singer Lucia Percival is due to perform her last concert. But she has no intention of going onstage. A terrible secret from the First World War has finally caught up with her.

London, 1917. Lucia, a young Jamaican exile, hopes to make it as a musician. But her past haunts her, and when she meets Lilian, an old woman damaged by war, she agrees to a pact that could destroy everything she has fought so hard for.

From the Western Front and Glasgow, to Black society in London, Lucia's story tells a tale of music, motherhood, loss and redemption.

From the author of White Feathers, a passionate, compelling wartime romance shortlisted for the Romantic Novel of the Year in 2015, comes a new novel telling a compelling story of music, motherhood, race and war.

Reviews of Lucia's War:

"Oh, this book, where do I even begin? This is a story that swept me away in all of its brilliance...Lanigan has done the impossible and somehow weaved the language of music into this evocative story in such a way that it was almost as if I was listening to a poignant symphony that was as beautiful as it was violent." - Mary Anne Yarde

"a very profound, intense and engrossing read, one that will appeal to all with an interest in history, in particular the social and cultural history of those fraught years of the early twentieth century." - Mairead Hearne, Swirl and Thread blog
 

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
December 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
468
Pages
PUBLISHER
Idée Fixe Press
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
485.7
KB

More Books by Susan Lanigan