Slade

    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

An unlikely celebrity with a self-help book becomes a reluctant spiritual guru to the Hollywood elite, spawning a cult he wants nothing to do with.

"...a unique attempt, using an unusual style and format, to pinpoint and highlight both the light and dark sides of the human psyche. Slade is an incredibly powerful and thought-provoking story... This is a fantastic book on many levels and I can highly recommend it." ~ Readers' Favorite Book Reviews, Grant Leishman (5 Stars)

A car crash thirty years earlier left Slade Bennington severely disabled but with a new outlook on life. His book about overcoming trauma becomes a bestseller and a box office hit movie. Slade strikes up an unusual friendship with Schuyler, the six-foot-tall teenage actress who portrays his sister in the movie. She encourages him to continue writing, and his pithy musings about life spur a nationwide following of devotees who study his books like Holy Scriptures.

Slade becomes a counselor to the celebrity in-crowd—the Shaman to the Stars. While thousands adore Slade, others call him a Svengali or Rasputin-like character who controls and manipulates his clients.

One disillusioned fan spends years plotting revenge.

EVOLVED PUBLISHING PRESENTS an offbeat literary/satire novel that unfolds in a series of interviews with the main character and those who know him best, plus snippets from Slade's books and news reports. The unconventional structure, dark humor, and cast of quirky characters will appeal to readers of Chuck Palahniuk and John Irving.

BOOKS BY ROBB GRINDSTAFF:
"Carry Me Away""Hannah's Voice""June Bug Gothic: Tales from the South""Slade""Turning Trixie" [Fall 2022]
MORE GREAT LITERARY FICTION FROM EVOLVED PUBLISHING:
The "Holidazed" Series by Gregg Sapp"A Debt of War" by Michael Ringering"The Clovis Dig" by Teri Fink"The Daughter of the Sea and the Sky" by David Litwack"Deep Mud" by Ty Spencer Vossler

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2022
May 2
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
311
Pages
PUBLISHER
Evolved Publishing LLC
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
967.4
KB

More Books by Robb Grindstaff

2013
2022
2013