• $11.99

Publisher Description

Home is where the haunt is.

"Fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz will appreciate this atmospheric gem." ★★★★★ "Kept me on the edge of my seat!"★★★★★ 

A children's game played in the dark brings on a terrifying rampage in this gothic horror page-turner by the NY Times bestselling author of Neverland and The Children's Hour. After the brutal murder of a loved one, Nemo Raglan must return to the New England island he thought he'd escaped for good…and the shadowy home called Hawthorn.


"Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction, and The Hour Before Dark is his best and most exciting novel to date. This is pure imagination, and it is wearing speed skates." -- Peter Straub, New York Times bestselling author of Ghost Story and, with Stephen King, The Talisman.


"A classic of modern supernatural horror."


*"...An eerie psychological tale of supernatural horror that builds suspense gradually as the characters slowly peel back the layers of their past and face the terrors of their shared childhood. Clegg approaches horror with a stark and vital simplicity that is utterly convincing. Fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz will appreciate this atmospheric gem." -- Library Journal.


"I was compelled to keep turning the pages as fear...raised my pulse to racing level from cover to cover." -- DarkEcho.


From the Publishers Weekly Starred Review:

"Suspenseful and relentlessly spooky, told in economical prose yet peopled by characters as fully realized as one’s own blood kin, this is at once the most artful and most mainstream tale yet from one of horror’s brightest lights." 


"... A dark,psychologically astute novel that pushes beyond the horror genre

and into raw suspense...THE HOUR BEFORE DARK is a powerful and deeply engaging novel of disturbance and redemption...highly recommended to any reader who enjoys Stephen King, Dean Koontz, or Pat Conroy." -- The BookReporter.


"In his finest novel to date, Clegg establishes himself firmly as one of the leading authors in the horror genre...Hold onto your chair; The Hour Before Dark is a powerhouse of a read." -- Cemetery Dance Magazine.


A gripping read that is refreshingly character-driven, yet still produces a palpable sense of dread." - Fangoria.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2012
June 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
385
Pages
PUBLISHER
Alkemara Press
SELLER
Douglas Clegg
SIZE
2.8
MB

Customer Reviews

Dubble trubble ,

Thoroughly enjoyable

Full disclosure: I'll read just about anything horror, sci-fi or fantasy. The crazier the better. But the best ones, the ones that give you the most delicious chills, are stories like these that are believably unbelievable.

This is a good, fun, creepy read. Would recommend.

Brandielou72 ,

Readingchickster

I've just "found" Douglas Clegg". I really enjoyed this storyline, and there were a few times it actually made me jump. This is actually pretty hard to do for someone who read "The Shining" at the age of 12. Yes, there are some grammatical and spelling errors in the e-book edition, however the Author does mention that these books are new to the e-book format. If you like a good horror read you can't go wrong with Clegg.

Rifflepass ,

Not bad

Ok story but ebook has typos galore.

More Books by Douglas Clegg