In Cold Blood In Cold Blood
Book 1 - Detective Isabel Blood

In Cold Blood

    • 4.0 • 48 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

‘I read this in one sitting and loved every minute of it. The detective story reads like an episode of Vera.’ 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

No secret can stay buried forever…

As the Whitworth family begin renovations on their new home, their plans are brought to an abrupt end when they discover a body buried in the back garden.

DI Isabel Blood and her team are called to investigate, but as she approaches Ecclesdale Drive, a feeling of unease settles in her gut.

The property cordoned off is number 23. The house she used to live in as a child…

The forensic team estimate that the body has been in the ground for up to forty years – coinciding with the time Isabel’s family lived in the house.

Isabel’s father vanished without a trace when she was fourteen years old. And with her mother remaining tight-lipped about her father’s disappearance, Isabel can’t escape the unnerving sense of dread that it’s his body, buried in the garden.

Fans of Vera, Val McDermid and Elly Griffiths will love In Cold Blood!

Readers love In Cold Blood!

“A gripping police procedural thriller that had me engrossed from the first page. The storyline had me intrigued, so much so that I read it in one day.” 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

“Isabel Blood is a great character and I really enjoyed getting to know her. I’m a great fan of police procedural novels and this was an excellent read! The case was a fascinating one and the story was cleverly plotted… with numerous twists and turns and some rather surprising revelations!” 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

“If you’re looking for a cosy crime novel that is packed with suspense, then this is the book for you. A fantastic debut novel that I have no hesitation in recommending.” 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

“This is a fabulous debut crime novel!” 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

“I loved this book from beginning to end and cannot wait to read more from Jane Bettany.” 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

About the author

Jane Bettany is a writer of short stories and non-fiction books and articles. Her work has been published in women's magazines in the UK (such as My Weekly, People's Friend, Yours and Woman's Weekly), as well as in literary magazines and newspapers.

She has an MA in Creative Writing and has been a teacher of creative writing since 2007. As well as writing and teaching, she also runs a publishing and communications company and loves helping people to share their stories and find their writing voice.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
August 27
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ Digital
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2.4
MB

More Books Like This

The Night She Went Missing The Night She Went Missing
2022
Paradise Falls Paradise Falls
2013
I Dare You I Dare You
2019
When the Dead Speak When the Dead Speak
2020
Before I Say Good-Bye Before I Say Good-Bye
2000
Stolen Children Stolen Children
2020

More Books by Jane Bettany

Last Seen Alive Last Seen Alive
2022
Without a Trace Without a Trace
2021
Murder in Merrywell Murder in Merrywell
2023
Murder at the Book Festival Murder at the Book Festival
2024
Murder at Maple Grange Murder at Maple Grange
2024
How to Write Stories With a Twist How to Write Stories With a Twist
2016

Customers Also Bought

Outside Looking In (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 2) Outside Looking In (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 2)
2016
A Famished Heart A Famished Heart
2020
Last Request Last Request
2019
A Fatal Obsession A Fatal Obsession
2018
Black River Black River
2020
Small Mercies Small Mercies
2020

Other Books in This Series

Last Seen Alive Last Seen Alive
2022
Without a Trace Without a Trace
2021