In Darkness, Look for Stars In Darkness, Look for Stars

In Darkness, Look for Stars

An absolutely gripping, heartbreaking and epic World War 2 historical novel

    • 4.1 • 232 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Utterly captivating.’ Goodreads Reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I was completely hooked.’ Goodreads Reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘One of the best books I have read.’ Goodreads Reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Fantastic… My heart was in my mouth.’ Shaz’s Book Blog


Paris, 1941: Going against her mother’s orders, spirited Maggie devotes herself to the Resistance. Her life is a whirlwind of forged passports and secret midnight runs, helping Jews escape Paris, which grows more dangerous by the day. Under the cloak of darkness, she bids farewell to Emil, who flees the city with the Nazis hot on his heels.


Emil is bound for Maggie’s sister, Cecilia, hundreds of miles away in the South of France. Innocent and shy Cecilia is shocked to the core when Emil turns up, seeking refuge. Up until now, she has lived a sheltered existence: wild and dangerous Emil turns her world upside down. Her life is on the line as she risks everything to protect him and soon she is drawn into the secret work of the underground Resistance.


As each day passes and the war rages on, Cecilia cannot help being drawn to Emil… But as the Nazis close in on them, she faces a terrible choice. Exactly how far she is willing to go for love? Her decision will haunt her for the rest of her life…


An evocative, riveting and stirring tale about the tragic realities of war, the fine line between loyalty and lies, and the power of love, even in the darkest of times. Fans of The Nightingale, The Letter and All The Light We Cannot See will be spellbound by this magnificent historical novel.


Readers absolutely love In Darkness, Look for Stars:


AmazingOne of my favourite stories… A brilliant story that is full of twists and turns… I felt like I was on the edge of my seat the whole time while reading… A must-read.’ Chells and Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Oh my word, this was definitely an emotive and additive read, and then someI felt myself well up… I fully immersed myself in the story and I knew that nothing much would be done for the rest of the day as I would be too busy reading!... I was too hookedSuperbly written… I became so emotionally involved with certain characters that every time they felt pain, I felt pain The author uses such vivid and realistic descriptions that I actually felt as though I was part of the story myself.’ Ginger Book Geek, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

AmazingI truly loved this book… Clara Benson does a masterful job of bringing her characters to life… Fans of All the Light We Cannot See will thoroughly enjoy this book.’ Historically Yours, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Stirring, captivating and electrifyingSo poignant it could sever readers’ heartstrings… A wonderfully written historical novel, In Darkness, Look for Stars was the first Clara Benson novel I read, but it shall certainly not be my last.’ Bookish Jottings, ⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A beautifully devastating book. Highly emotional and utterly captivating from the first page to the last.’ Loopyloulaura, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Fantastic… The author captures the relationships beautifully over the split time spans and intertwines them seamlessly. A real page-turner filled with suspenseful twists and turns.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘This book was so good! The characters were so well rounded, you felt like you actually knew them! The plot was so good you didn't want the book to end!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐


Beautifully written.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘First of all, what a lovely title and so apt during these dark times!... Heartbreaking as well as heartwarming. An insightful look into what war can bring but what we can get out of life when everything is crumbling around us. There’s plenty of war stories out there, but this one stands out.The Book Trail, ⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I have read lots of books in the war fiction genre and found this book to be one of the best I have read!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
April 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
502
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
3.5
MB

Customer Reviews

lautedn ,

Loved this book

Well written and very captivating! Could not put it down! I very much appreciate the author’s writing style and plan to download another book!

Marla Mysteries ,

In Darkness, Look For Stars

I have loved every book by Clara Benson. You will have a great read with all of them!

Thewalkinglady ,

Excellent book - highly recommend

I’ve read other books by Clara Benson but this one was the best so far. It was historical fiction describing characters living in France during WW2. While the facts are known, this gave insight into the lives of those impacted by the German occupation and their response. Amazing characters, well developed that showed the courage, the fears, the determination to make a difference. I could not put it down and was disappointed when it ended but … it was a wonderful ending. I look forward to more

More Books Like This

A Gathering Storm A Gathering Storm
2011
The Dark-Eyed Girls The Dark-Eyed Girls
2015
The Hills and the Valley The Hills and the Valley
2018
Daughters of War Daughters of War
2021
The Peacock Emporium The Peacock Emporium
2019
Wartime with the Cornish Girls Wartime with the Cornish Girls
2021

More Books by Clara Benson

The Murder at Sissingham Hall The Murder at Sissingham Hall
2013
A Case of Blackmail in Belgravia A Case of Blackmail in Belgravia
2016
The Mystery at Underwood House The Mystery at Underwood House
2013
Angela Marchmont Mysteries Books 1-3 Angela Marchmont Mysteries Books 1-3
2017
The Treasure at Poldarrow Point The Treasure at Poldarrow Point
2013
The Riddle at Gipsy's Mile The Riddle at Gipsy's Mile
2014

Customers Also Bought

When We Were Brave When We Were Brave
2020
Under a Sky on Fire Under a Sky on Fire
2020
The Violin Maker's Daughter The Violin Maker's Daughter
2019
The Soldier's Girl The Soldier's Girl
2018
The Night Train to Berlin The Night Train to Berlin
2021
The Secret Agent The Secret Agent
2020