Small Admissions

A Novel

    • 4.3 • 186 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

People’s Book of the Week

“Perfect for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep.” —Booklist

Top 6 Books You Need to Read —BuzzFeed

Best Books to Give Every Book Lover on Your List —Town & Country

In this witty, hilarious, and entertaining novel that’s “The Devil Wears Prada meets Primates of Park Avenue” (The New York Times), a young woman is unexpectedly thrust into the cutthroat world of New York City private school admissions, from award-winning author Amy Poeppel.

Despite her innate ambition and summa cum laude smarts, Kate Pearson has turned into a major slacker. After being unceremoniously dumped by her handsome “almost fiancé,” she abandons her plans and instead spends her days lolling on the couch, watching reruns of Sex and the City. Her friends don’t know what to do other than pass tissues and hope for a comeback, while her practical sister, Angela, pushes every remedy she can think of, from trapeze class to therapy to job interviews.

Miraculously, Kate manages to land a job in the admissions department at the revered Hudson Day School. In her new position Kate learns there’s no time for self-pity or nonsense during the thick of the admissions season, or what her colleagues refer to as “the dark time.” As the process revs up, Kate meets smart kids who are unlikable, likeable kids who aren’t very smart, and Park Avenue parents who refuse to take no for an answer. Through a comical and crazy run of wildly unpredictable interviews, subtle bribes, outright threats, final judgments, and page-turning twists, the highly competitive and occasionally absurd world of private school admissions is brought to light in all of its outrageous glory that is reminiscent of Curtis Sittenfeld’s Prep.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2016
December 27
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atria/Emily Bestler Books
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
9.8
MB

Customer Reviews

Nina@310 ,

Small admissions

Absolutely loved every page.

Lbuznego ,

Small Admissions

Don’t waste your money. Not worth it. Horrible.

WilkerTaos ,

Colorful and fun!

Small Admissions was a fun ride with colorful characters facing interesting challenges. Amy Poeppel made me laugh throughout and when it was over, I wanted to keep reading.

More Books by Amy Poeppel

2020
2018
2023

Customers Also Bought

2018
2017
2016
2017
2017
2017